Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2018, 03:55 PM   #1

Solar plug on the side of my trailer?

My trailer has a plug on the side for solar. I have looked through all the info that came with the trailer but cant find anything telling me what will fit it. I would like to find something that will help keep the batteries charged during the day when I am not running the generators. Has anyone used that plug? What would I need to buy to utilize it. I have never used any kind of solar equipment before. Dont want to spend a bunch on it, just something that will help keep the batteries up in the daytime. Thanks.
Old 09-09-2018, 04:39 PM   #2

I think a zamp connector will plug into that. get a 100 watt solar suitcase and put the zamp solar connector on it and should be golden. Now some trailers came wired with a solar charge controller, might want to chk if you have one. I would think you do, if that came new on the trailer
Craigrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 04:46 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_allison510 View Post
My trailer has a plug on the side for solar. I have looked through all the info that came with the trailer but cant find anything telling me what will fit it. I would like to find something that will help keep the batteries charged during the day when I am not running the generators. Has anyone used that plug? What would I need to buy to utilize it. I have never used any kind of solar equipment before. Dont want to spend a bunch on it, just something that will help keep the batteries up in the daytime. Thanks.
Yeah, Zamp is the only one I've ever seen pre-installed. If you don't use a Zamp system, remember Zamp reverses the polarity just to be different. Research first.
wherewolf17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 04:46 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou

That is because it is just a wire that goes to the battery.