Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2018, 10:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
A different AC Fan and Furnace Question

I've seen people ask similar questions, but this is kind of the opposite of the normal AC fan question. I like the AC fan running when the propane furnace is running (I like the steady noise when sleeping). In previous RVs I've had thermostats where setting the fan to auto makes this possible. However, in our 2018 Chaparrel 360 IBL, with the standard thermostat and controller I can't run the AC fan while the furnace is running on gas heat. Does anyone have a fix? I'm pretty sure I cannot just replace only the thermostat. The workaround is to use ceramic heaters and the fireplace and running the AC fan in fan only mode.
__________________

SRWNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 10:10 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 11,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRWNH View Post
I've seen people ask similar questions, but this is kind of the opposite of the normal AC fan question. I like the AC fan running when the propane furnace is running (I like the steady noise when sleeping). In previous RVs I've had thermostats where setting the fan to auto makes this possible. However, in our 2018 Chaparrel 360 IBL, with the standard thermostat and controller I can't run the AC fan while the furnace is running on gas heat. Does anyone have a fix? I'm pretty sure I cannot just replace only the thermostat. The workaround is to use ceramic heaters and the fireplace and running the AC fan in fan only mode.
Set the Fan speed to HI or LO. Setting it to AU (Auto) keeps the A/C fan from running with the furnace.


Click on this ==> #4.
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 74; booked = 12
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 11:00 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Thanks. I should have been clearer. What I'm trying to say is that I have cool, heat and off modes in this system. There is no stand alone fan mode like other thermostats that I have had and I don't seem to have the option to set the fan to auto when in heat mode. I can access an auto fan setting while in the cool mode, but it gets cleared when I switch to the heat mode to turn the furnace on. I also looked through the furnace control board manual and there is no dip switch that I can find that would enable it either. I guess the ultimate question is whether or not the control board and thermostat can or should be swapped out.
SRWNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 11:10 AM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,689
Can you tell us which brand and model thermostat you have?
It may also help if you could post a picture of it.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 11:21 AM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,089
I've seen this accomplished using two thermostats.

My buddy did this by replacing the Coleman Mach analog thermostat with a digital one and then separated the furnace control wires and used the analog thermostat for the furnace only.

I would also believe (again for those units using Coleman A/C units) that a switch could be wired at the thermostat to run the A/C fan only.

I'm guessing a switch from the red 12v+ wire to either the green or grey fan wires would do the trick.

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=36
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 12:03 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Attached is a photo of the thermostat, an RVComfort.ZC. Also attached is the listing of possible thermostat modes from the owner's manual. You can see that the fan can be energized without the AC running in cool mode. The heat mode is either nothing operational or gas heat energized, but nowhere can the fan be energized. Makes no sense to me why the fan cannot be used in heat mode for circulation.


edit: The fan CAN be energized when using the heat strip, and needs to be, but not when using gas.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Thermostat functions.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	151.5 KB
ID:	192297   Click image for larger version

Name:	Thermostat.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	247.0 KB
ID:	192298  
SRWNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 02:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,794
Yes, like that

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
I've seen this accomplished using two thermostats.

My buddy did this by replacing the Coleman Mach analog thermostat with a digital one and then separated the furnace control wires and used the analog thermostat for the furnace only.

I would also believe (again for those units using Coleman A/C units) that a switch could be wired at the thermostat to run the A/C fan only.

I'm guessing a switch from the red 12v+ wire to either the green or grey fan wires would do the trick.

5Picker has it right--has given you almost all the information you need. Find the manual or installation guide for the thermostat. As he showed, it will have a list of terminal numbers and/or wire colors and what they do.

What you need to do is
  • Add a wall mount switch like this one next to the thermostat.
  • Dismount the thermostat from the wall, so it's hanging by the wires
  • Cut a piece of wire about 2 feet long
  • Connect one end of the wire to the +12 terminal on the thermostat
  • Connect the other end of the wire to the Fan High or Fan Low terminal on the thermostat
  • Poke the end of the looped wire into the wall
  • Make a hole, maybe 3/4" in diameter in the wall. You will mount the new switch over this hole
  • Reach into the hole with a stiff hooked wire. Hook the looped wire and pull it out of the hole
  • Cut the loop and connect each of the ends to a terminal on the switch
  • Mount the switch to the wall

Larry
Larry-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 03:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 16
I also have a 360ibl. I understand your frustration with the fan issues as it is one of my biggest complaints with this model. My other 2 gripes would be the fact that the temp sensor for "zone 2" is in the hallway as well as the bedroom light switch. So, if your door is closed you can't turn the lights on or off and it's extremely hard to regulate the bedroom temperature. I have already relocated the light switch and temperature sensor into the bedroom. As far as the AC fan goes, my plan was to mount a white switch on the AC cover above the bed that will turn just the fan on. I have not looked at the wiring yet, but I'm sure it's possible to tie into the wires coming from the thermostat and "jumper" the fan on.
T1545jh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 03:36 PM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry-NC View Post
5Picker has it right--has given you almost all the information you need. Find the manual or installation guide for the thermostat. As he showed, it will have a list of terminal numbers and/or wire colors and what they do.

What you need to do is
  • Add a wall mount switch like this one next to the thermostat.
  • Dismount the thermostat from the wall, so it's hanging by the wires
  • Cut a piece of wire about 2 feet long
  • Connect one end of the wire to the +12 terminal on the thermostat
  • Connect the other end of the wire to the Fan High or Fan Low terminal on the thermostat
  • Poke the end of the looped wire into the wall
  • Make a hole, maybe 3/4" in diameter in the wall. You will mount the new switch over this hole
  • Reach into the hole with a stiff hooked wire. Hook the looped wire and pull it out of the hole
  • Cut the loop and connect each of the ends to a terminal on the switch
  • Mount the switch to the wall

Larry
It's going to be a little different than this because this particular thermostat uses digital communication to the A/C and there are no wires for the fan. However, There are individual wires for the heat functions, so you could use a separate heat only thermostat for the furnace and then set the RVComfort.ZC thermostat to fan only. You need to go into the programming to figure out which heat source the furnace is wired as (heat 1 or heat 2).
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 09:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 691
WATCHING: Another happy 360IBL owner who's wife is interested any solutions.
__________________

__________________
2016 RAM 3500 DRW 4x4 LB LoneStar Edition, w/Timbrens, Andersen Ultimate 2, Swift Hitch SH04 WiFi Backup/Rear View Camera
2018 Chaparral 360IBL w/Tireminder SMART TPMS, Furrion Wireless Observation System, Progressive EMS-HW50C
2006 RAM 3500 DRW LoneStar Edition
2011 Starcraft 392BHU w/Andersen No-Sway hitch
chaps2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan, furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.