Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2016, 12:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Apex 288 cable tv issues

First trip in our new 2016 Apex. At a campground and can't get the cable tv to work. I verified cable hook up works by connecting to the neighbors camper. Under my tv are two coax plugs, one for antenna and one for cable/sat. When I took of the face plate the cable side had nothing hooked to it. What am I missing?
__________________

__________________
Mikemiller69gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 10:37 AM   #2
Sky&Scuba
 
kendive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikemiller69gs View Post
First trip in our new 2016 Apex. At a campground and can't get the cable tv to work. I verified cable hook up works by connecting to the neighbors camper. Under my tv are two coax plugs, one for antenna and one for cable/sat. When I took of the face plate the cable side had nothing hooked to it. What am I missing?
Are you just trying to get Air Antenna Channels?

If so there should be a button with an led light showing your booster is on usually right next to the antenna hook up.

You said you took the wall plate out and there is no RF cables hooked to it on the back side? Did you look into the wall and see if they are hanging in there and they just forgot to connect them during the build process?
__________________

__________________
kendive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
I'm actually trying to use the cable at the campground. I'm in a valley so regular TV is a no go. When I pulled the plate the antenna side had a little circuit board with three cables attached. The side that said satellite had nothing attached to the back. I pulled the radio out but I saw no other cables.
__________________
Mikemiller69gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
When using cable, the booster has to be off, then do a scan on "cable" on your TV and it should work if all connections are OK....
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 01:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
I assume you use the air terminal? If so, I tried that and it didn't work. I'm guessing I have a connection issue somewhere
__________________
Mikemiller69gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 03:15 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Cable rv

What type of televisions do you have? I have had issues with SEIKI
__________________
jbeav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 06:01 PM   #7
Sky&Scuba
 
kendive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikemiller69gs View Post
I assume you use the air terminal? If so, I tried that and it didn't work. I'm guessing I have a connection issue somewhere
I am trying to remember because I am not near my camper. On the outside I think you should have a Cable and then a Sat connection. This is for the external source. You are connecting Cable from the RV site so use cable.

Inside: You should have a cable connection. Use that with the booster off.

The little circuit board you saw that should be on the inside of the camper is your booster/amp board for when you use the antenna on the roof.

Have you removed the plate for the external cable/sat connections on the outside of the camper? Maybe loose connection there???
__________________
2015 F150 3.5 EcoBoost Lariat FX4 502A 3.55 Gears Max Tow KO2 Tires
2017 Grand Design Imagine 2150 RB / Traded in Catalina 253RKS
kendive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 07:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,065
Sometimes Forest River mixes up the wires behind the plate outside that says Cable/Sat. (mine were mixed up) Try changing where the cable hooks in to the other connection outside. Then be sure the little light is OFF on the wall plate for the TV hookups. Then put TV on cable setting and do a scan.
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that know binary, and those that don't.
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 12:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 40
you should have 2 lines behind that wall plate. 1 from the antenna and 1 from the cable hook up on the side. The factory messed up my bunk connection, its dead. I had to run my own as it wasnt a big deal to me. I didnt want them to take out a wall to look for a splitter they either hooked up backwards or didnt hook up at all
__________________

__________________
cableguy_hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.