Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2016, 07:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Are the new chaparral pre wired for furrion camera

I was wondering if my 16 371mbrb would be pre wired for the furrion camera set up ID really like to have one.
__________________

__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 08:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 663
I'm not sure,but don't believe they are. I can't find that as a option on any website. I know my 370FL doesn't have it.
__________________

__________________

2011 Ram Mega Cab 3500 Larimie dually
2016 Chaparral 370FL
DaveandSue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 08:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
I couldn't find it either but I know it be nice to have backing in sites so I could see my wife to help direct me and getting in my driveway. Should of asked the dealer I just picked mine up today from the walk thru things they had to fix
__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 08:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
VizJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Outside StL
Posts: 208
My 2016 390QSMB was not. The dealer offered to add the camera for $300 "since they all have the mount installed from the factory." And then she looked out the office window at the back of the Chaparrals on the lot and said, "I guess it's just on the Brookstone's now."

j
__________________
2016 Coachmen Chaparral 390QSMB
2011 F350- CC, DRW, LB, PSD

2016 nights camped: 40
2017 nights camped: 16
2017 nights reserved: 30
VizJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 06:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Man that really stinks I'm sure they charge me a small fortune to install one then
__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 07:19 AM   #6
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,608
Pictures of the unit show no pre-mount for the Furrion. BUT, that's not a problem. If it had been equipped from the factory then all they do is drill a hole below the center running light, tap off the light for power then screw the mount over the hole & wire. You should be able to do all of that in less than 10 minutes. Also, without the pre-drilled holes you have the option to look at many different brands and types of observation cameras.
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 07:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Okay I was curious about that was thinking that light wouldn't put enough power out but the cameras don't pull that much and yes you don't have to buy the furrion that very true now time to start looking then
__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 07:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
VizJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Outside StL
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by emm-dee View Post
tap off the light for power then screw the mount over the hole & wire.
Does that mean you have to keep your running lights on all the time to have the camera work?

And a question for anyone running a wireless camera. 10-12 years ago when I added a rear camera to my prior 5er, the range and quality of the wireless cameras wasn't good. My 30 ft aluminum frame 5er was too much for a decent signal so a ran the cables for a wired camera. Now that I have a 42 ft 5er, are the newer cameras good enough to send that far?

j
__________________
2016 Coachmen Chaparral 390QSMB
2011 F350- CC, DRW, LB, PSD

2016 nights camped: 40
2017 nights camped: 16
2017 nights reserved: 30
VizJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 07:51 PM   #9
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizJedi View Post
Does that mean you have to keep your running lights on all the time to have the camera work?

And a question for anyone running a wireless camera. 10-12 years ago when I added a rear camera to my prior 5er, the range and quality of the wireless cameras wasn't good. My 30 ft aluminum frame 5er was too much for a decent signal so a ran the cables for a wired camera. Now that I have a 42 ft 5er, are the newer cameras good enough to send that far?

j
Yes, running lights on, which is probably not a bad idea all the time.

The latest model cameras are a big improvement over 10-12 years ago, but keep in mind there are a lot of junk cameras out there. I'd be willing to bet that 90% of the stuff advertised on eBay is a waste of money. Probably some good ones there but anyone with a computer can advertise anything they want on eBay (main reason I never deal with them anymore). At least Amazon has a little more control and is top notch at solving problems and getting you money back.

RVS and Tadi both have good reputations, both for price and support. Furrion is a great camera...when it works. I had one and it was totally unacceptable with only a 31 foot TT. Sold it to a friend with a 38 (maybe 39) foot Keystone and it worked perfect. Another person I know didn't have much luck with it on another 35ft 5-wheel. It's a roll of the dice.

I'd recommend that no matter what you get make sure you are aware of the return policy because until you hook it up in YOUR unit you won't know if it works good or not.
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 08:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
I think I'm going to order the tadi one reason it seems like from what I read that you don't need to hook the camera to a power source on certain ones that clip to the license plate but would that be too low and to the side were it would make it pointless?
__________________

__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.