Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2016, 08:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
NitroNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Do I need shore power?

Newbie question here, but I don't recall what the dealer walk through orientation had to say on this and manual doesn't really say....

Our first trip in a couple weeks is to relatives cabin in Houghton Lake, MI
and we are taking our TT. They obviously don't have a 30 amp hook up for us.
So when I get rig set up, Can I open the slide out and the power awning with
the on board battery? Can I leave the TT hooked up to truck with truck running while I perform these open/close tasks to keep the battery charged?

Thanks for your help!

Nitro
__________________

__________________
2014 GMC Sierra 1500 4wd

2016 Coachman Catalina 251RLS
NitroNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 08:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 3,307
Yes and Yes.
__________________

__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 09:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: eastern NC
Posts: 940
you don't have to always have 30amp hookup, if they have 120v, with an adapter plug, you can use a lot of the "stuff" with just 120v, ..... at our home, w/120v, we can run ac, the frig, and all the lights, plus, probably more, we just haven't tried "more"
__________________


fella10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 09:04 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,572
You can also get a 15A to 30A adapter ( see photo) and you can plug into the cabin. You should be able to run the water pump, lights, and fridge and keep the battery charged with the converter. You will not be able to use the WH (on electric), AC or microwave if installed.
Attached Images
 
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 09:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,748
It's all about the amp draw. That means no A/C, possibly microwave too. Most everything else, no problem. Just adapt to their 120v outlet and you're good to go.
__________________
Still Kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 09:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 80
I remember when 20 amp service was the norm. Back the I could run my ac if I kept the fan on low.
__________________
Steve29rlx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 10:37 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
NitroNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
I do have that adapter, but I was just thinking that the slide out motor or awning motor may draw to much amperage from their house and open the breaker, but it sounds like that's not the case. I was aware of not running the ac however as well as microwave. Thanks for the info!
__________________
2014 GMC Sierra 1500 4wd

2016 Coachman Catalina 251RLS
NitroNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 10:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: eastern NC
Posts: 940
as I stated in post #3, we DO run our 13,500 BTU ac, the refrigerator and all the lights on a 20amp circuit and it does not trip the breaker, ..... we leave the refrigerator on all the time, and I run the ac and the lights anytime I'm inside doing a project/mod,...... I've even run a small vacuum cleaner to clean up the mess from a mod, and have never had the breaker trip, ..............
__________________


fella10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 03:40 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
ronandpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Greentown Indiana
Posts: 24
Sometimes when you are drawing a lot of amperage from a 20 amp circuit the 30amp to 15 amp adapter can get pretty warm. I have seen some that have almost melted. Just be careful how much you are drawing. You need to look at the fuse rating on the house plug you are connecting to as it may be 20 amps which is more than the adapter is designed to handle.
__________________

Ron & Pat
Greentown Indiana
2014 F350
2016 Chaparal 336TSIK
ronandpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 03:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
If you plug into the house use a none GFCI outlet.

The one in your unit and the house will likely not play well with each other.
__________________

__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.