Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2014, 05:01 PM   #1

Help with refridgerator

I am very new to this so this will be a very elementary question to most of you but I need help. I just returned from a 2 wk trip in my new Class C. Leaving again in 3 days so don't want to unload refridg/freezer.
Can't get the propane to come on. Read the manual and still didn't work. The dealer gave me a 30 amp to 20 amp converter plug. Can I plug my RV into my house current (with a grounded cord) and run just the refridgerator off of house power?
Hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 05:32 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannah View Post
I am very new to this so this will be a very elementary question to most of you but I need help. I just returned from a 2 wk trip in my new Class C. Leaving again in 3 days so don't want to unload refridg/freezer.
Can't get the propane to come on. Read the manual and still didn't work. The dealer gave me a 30 amp to 20 amp converter plug. Can I plug my RV into my house current (with a grounded cord) and run just the refridgerator off of house power?
Hannah,

You can easily run the fridge off of your house current as long as you don't try to run the AC or microwave (without checking how much power you can actually pull without tripping breakers or damaging the house wiring).

The procedure I use to turn on the propane (some tanks like mine are sensitive to the emergency shutoff in the pigtail nut) is:

Make sure both are full (weight them if needed)
Turn OFF both tanks
Wait several minutes
Indicator should be RED

Select the tank opposite the one that has the shortest hose path to the tank.

Using the tank with the SHORTEST path (NOT the one selected)
SLOWLY crack the valve - I MEAN SLOOOOW - the first 1/4 turn is critical).