Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-24-2013, 07:44 PM   #1

Pulling a Freedom Express 298 REDS w/ F-150 EB

I am a TT newbie and would appreciate some advice.

I am considering a Freedom Express Liberty Edition 298 REDS. Hitch weight is 766 pounds. Yellow sticker claims a dry weight of 7492.

I have a 2013 Ford F150 Ecoboost, 3.55 axle, regular hitch package, SuperCrew, 5.5' bed. Payload is limited to 1151 pounds because it's a heavily-optioned FX4 Appearance Package truck. Max trailer weight is 9600 pounds.

Has anyone with a truck with similar specs pulled a Coachmen like this? Any issues? Salesman says will pull like a dream but I am still critical and investigating on my own.

Thanks a bunch!

Chris
Cwalker2731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 08:51 PM   #2
Professional Curmudgeon

From that payload you need to deduct:
about 50 pounds for the hitch
total weight of passengers
weight of full tank of fuel
weight of any "stuff" such as cooler, food, drinks, tools, etc. - basically anything you carry that didn't come with the truck
any aftermarket accessories - running boards, bed cover, mud flaps, etc.
tongue weight of the loaded trailer.

That last is kind of hard to estimate when you don't even own the camper, but 766 lbs dry can easily become 850 lbs or more.
I think you'll find yourself right at the payload limits, if not over them. Your ecobeast will surely tow it, but I bet it'll be closer to a "nightmare" than a "dream".
wrvond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
daydreaming about camping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwalker2731 View Post
I am a TT newbie and would appreciate some advice.

I am considering a Freedom Express Liberty Edition 298 REDS. Hitch weight is 766 pounds. Yellow sticker claims a dry weight of 7492.