Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2016, 11:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 193
Speakers

We just picked up our new Freedom Express Liberty 292BH. Great unit. I was trying to set up the tv to play through the speakers, but cannot seem to do it. Has anyone else had this issue? Its a Jensen DVD etc set up.
__________________

FRRVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 07:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Yes just did the same with my chaparral found out you have to pull the radio out and plug two cables in behind it and run them to your TV my 14 lacrosse was already ran and when I got the 16 chaparral it wasn't I had to buy the red yellow cables it's not hard
__________________

__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 08:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 203
Not sure if this applies to your rig, but for us only the DVD player plays from the overhead speakers, the television only plays from the speaks in the TV.
__________________
2016 Apex 300BHS
TV: 2005 Silverado Z71, 4x4 lowered and re-geared
ApexBunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 09:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex.mcintosh40 View Post
Yes just did the same with my chaparral found out you have to pull the radio out and plug two cables in behind it and run them to your TV my 14 lacrosse was already ran and when I got the 16 chaparral it wasn't I had to buy the red yellow cables it's not hard
Thanks do you remember what the plugs were? All my TV plugs say input except SPDIF out. Any info will help thanks.
FRRVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 09:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApexBunk View Post
Not sure if this applies to your rig, but for us only the DVD player plays from the overhead speakers, the television only plays from the speaks in the TV.
What kind of set up do you have?
__________________
2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 292BHDS
FRRVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 11:35 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jgump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRRVR View Post
We just picked up our new Freedom Express Liberty 292BH. Great unit. I was trying to set up the tv to play through the speakers, but cannot seem to do it. Has anyone else had this issue? Its a Jensen DVD etc set up.

You can do this by buying a digital audio out to RCA audio in converter on Amazon. You plug one end of the box into your single digital audio out port on tv then the converter box has two outputs that are RCA (the red and white cables). Plug those into your audio in RCA plugs in your RV and then the tv will play through ceiling speakers as long as you have your stereo set to aux in for those ports. Works great in mine. Hope this helps!

JG


John

2016 Wildwood 27RKSS
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi)
jgump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 11:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgump View Post
You can do this by buying a digital audio out to RCA audio in converter on Amazon. You plug one end of the box into your single digital audio out port on tv then the converter box has two outputs that are RCA (the red and white cables). Plug those into your audio in RCA plugs in your RV and then the tv will play through ceiling speakers as long as you have your stereo set to aux in for those ports. Works great in mine. Hope this helps!

JG


John

2016 Wildwood 27RKSS
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi)
I was thinking I might have to do that. I will have to get the cables also. Thanks!
__________________
2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 292BHDS
FRRVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 02:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
There should be the sets of red white and yellow on back of radio also TV atleast two just run them from radio to TV it will do the trick there a thread farther down on here with the same question that's how I figured mine out.
__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 03:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRRVR View Post
What kind of set up do you have?
Not sure? It's a 2016 Apex 300bhs. From reading others responses it looks like we could have the capability of playing through our overhead speakers too, it just isn't set up that way.
__________________
2016 Apex 300BHS
TV: 2005 Silverado Z71, 4x4 lowered and re-geared
ApexBunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 03:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 65
I have a 300 BHS and I can play through the overhead speakers. Be sure to choose the right set of speakers. I can choose A(goes nowhere), B (inside), or C (outside). But as others have pointed out, need to be sure you have audio coming from the TV into the AUX input of the head unit. That's usually done with a cheap set of RCA cables.

And I would imagine most Coachman's are the same in that the speakers are just terrible. I replaced them with a set of Rockford Fosgate R1525X2 for only $40. The difference is amazing even with "OK" speakers. Music is great and movies are way better to watch.
Major Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 01:56 PM   #11
2014Catalina 25RKS Deluxe
 
jeffdawgfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 33
I bought a small sound bar that sits under our 32 inch TV. It gives much better sound than the stock sound system even with upgraded speakers.
__________________
Official caretakers of Sasha & Blakely the King Charles Cavalier Spaniels. (We drive their camper around for them)

2014 Coachman Catalina 25 RKS Deluxe, Anderson WDH, 2016 Ram 1500 Laramie 4x4 for TV
jeffdawgfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 08:52 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
jgump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdawgfan View Post
I bought a small sound bar that sits under our 32 inch TV. It gives much better sound than the stock sound system even with upgraded speakers.

Which sound bar did you buy? Does it have a subwoofer ? Thanks Jeff


John

2016 Wildwood 27RKSS
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi)
jgump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:22 AM   #13
2014Catalina 25RKS Deluxe
 
jeffdawgfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 33
I purchased this one. "Good" quality sound without a subwoofer. As with most things for the TT, Size and power consumption must be traded off vs performance. This sits under our 32 inch tv (I think it is 28 inches long) and has pretty good sound output. Now it does not match my 7.1 setup on my HDTV at home but then again this is for "roughing" it in the camper. For price/performance/size I would give it a rating or 9/10. It sure beats the speakers on the tv.


Robot Check
__________________
Official caretakers of Sasha & Blakely the King Charles Cavalier Spaniels. (We drive their camper around for them)

2014 Coachman Catalina 25 RKS Deluxe, Anderson WDH, 2016 Ram 1500 Laramie 4x4 for TV
jeffdawgfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:34 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jgump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdawgfan View Post
I purchased this one. "Good" quality sound without a subwoofer. As with most things for the TT, Size and power consumption must be traded off vs performance. This sits under our 32 inch tv (I think it is 28 inches long) and has pretty good sound output. Now it does not match my 7.1 setup on my HDTV at home but then again this is for "roughing" it in the camper. For price/performance/size I would give it a rating or 9/10. It sure beats the speakers on the tv.


Robot Check

Looks nice! Yea, sure is hard "camping" without full surround isn't it?! LOL. Does the sound bar connect to tv via digital audio out or RCA ? I assume Bluetooth is a separate feature? Thanks Jeff.


John

2016 Wildwood 27RKSS
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi)
jgump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:49 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
I have a 2011 Freedom Express 295RLDS. My dvd plays overhead but only on the right speakers. The stereo plays on right and left. I have moved the wires all over and get the video to play on the left speakers. My TV only plays on the tv speakers. Any suggestions?
inspector54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 10:18 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
jgump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 201
Did it ever work properly? What kinda head unit do you have ? Sounds like loose connections somewhere. All speakers work in some config, so we know it's not blown speakers. Have you removed and reseated each speaker wire connection into the head unit? Is it possible that on dvd setting your balance is saved to only one side of speakers ? Thinking out loud here trying to help.


John

2016 Wildwood 27RKSS
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi)
jgump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 04:49 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
blwnsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NH
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex.mcintosh40 View Post
Yes just did the same with my chaparral found out you have to pull the radio out and plug two cables in behind it and run them to your TV my 14 lacrosse was already ran and when I got the 16 chaparral it wasn't I had to buy the red yellow cables it's not hard
That's odd because my 360 had the cables prewired and they were just sitting behind the TV hanging out of the wall.
__________________
2015 F350 6.7 Platinum
2015 Coachmen 360IBL
blwnsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 06:15 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
I have had the Jenson head unit out many times and all cables are secure. I bought the travel trailer used and have no idea if it ever worked properly. I will take it all apart again next week and try all the combinations again. Thank you for your thoughts.
inspector54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 06:26 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Alex.mcintosh40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwnsmoke View Post
That's odd because my 360 had the cables prewired and they were just sitting behind the TV hanging out of the wall.
I honestly thought they would be like my 14 lacrosse was I ended up finding the cables to hook it up the way it should of been up in one of the cabinets. But atleast it works now that's all that matters.
__________________

__________________
2011 RAM 3500 CCLB 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco 412W Seismic Wave
Alex.mcintosh40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


×