Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 02:42 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 17
Thnaks for the info, I was aware of that. But the picture quality was much worse that those issues present. I compare it to the picture quality I remember as a kid living in a very rural area trying to pick up channels over 100 miles away over mountains and through the valley so to speak, that is how bad it was, some channels we couldn't evn watch they were so bad.
__________________

__________________
Jack & Vickie
2012 Puma Unleashed 356 Toy Hauler
1998 Dodge Dually Cummins
2005 Harley Electra Glide Screaming Eagle
2012 days camped 9-21 days reserved so far
yellow103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
if ur going to go back into it, check to make sure the center lead on each of the F connectors isn't short and possibly not making contact. i like to have the center lead even with the open end of the F connector.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:28 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Does anyone know where the splitter would be in a XLR 386? We put a tv in the bedroom today and didn't work after hook up, tried the other bedroom (garage) didn't work, tried in living room after unhooking existing tv and it worked fine. I cannot find a splitter anywhere in this thing.
__________________
thevetswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:46 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 327
Its actually on the backside of the TV/DigitalTV wall plate.

For the most part the problems you are having is probably just lousy cable service and the way they support analog channels.

I found when I had pure digital channels it worked just fine.
__________________
Foard County News & Sassy Schoolmarm
with Lady & Chloe, 2013 39 days, 2014 59 days
2017 GD Imagine 2800BH
'07 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel 4x4
Why I got into RVing & More Fun
ng2951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
is the lack of tightness on the fittings a common problem that plagues the 356QLB? i'm having issues getting the dishnetwork to "find" itself and the satellites. not connecting somehow so i'm going to use the wires/cables directly to the receiver (bypassing the wall plate), then troubleshoot for continuity from the rearward satellite jack to the wallplate distribution jacks at the TV. i appreciate this forum!
__________________
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:51 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyKyle View Post
is the lack of tightness on the fittings a common problem that plagues the 356QLB? i'm having issues getting the dishnetwork to "find" itself and the satellites. not connecting somehow so i'm going to use the wires/cables directly to the receiver (bypassing the wall plate), then troubleshoot for continuity from the rearward satellite jack to the wallplate distribution jacks at the TV. i appreciate this forum!
i don't know if on ur setup u can put the receiver on two different outlets ie living room bed room. if you have that option u may want to check for a splitter in that system. if all works when u hook up direct, they may have used the wrong splitter. u need a 950-2150 mhz w/DC pass thru on a sat system. on mine (2002) they used a 5-1000mhz splitter. i was having problems with the carryout setting up sometimes and had missing channels. replacing the splitter solved this. oh, what i found was a 5-2150 as a replacement.

the connectors i have never tightened more than hand tight. just make sure they are tight. i try wiggling the cable to make sure the connector is actually tight.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:27 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 17
my sat runs direct from the outside hook up to the entertainment center, no issues there. Park cable now works fine since I hunted down all the splitters and tightened all the cables. Life is now good.
__________________
Jack & Vickie
2012 Puma Unleashed 356 Toy Hauler
1998 Dodge Dually Cummins
2005 Harley Electra Glide Screaming Eagle
2012 days camped 9-21 days reserved so far
yellow103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:34 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I am not sure how your camper is supposed to be wired.

However in my camper, the "Campground Cable" coax coming in from the outside is routed directly to the wall amp and switch.

The output TV1 (I think) is then routed to the splitter, and the outputs go to your TVs. The SAT connector on the outside of my camper goes directly to the wall plate connector labeled SAT and that is where the receiver should be hooked up. The SAT receiver only runs the living room TV (there are workarounds to distribute the signal to all TVs).
on the aux/sat/tv wall plate, what is the dual stage button on the right hand side for? yeah, the one with the little green light....which, what does that indicate when illuminated or not?
__________________
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:01 AM   #19
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyKyle View Post
on the aux/sat/tv wall plate, what is the dual stage button on the right hand side for? yeah, the one with the little green light....which, what does that indicate when illuminated or not?
The wall plate switch does two things.

1) It (when on) provides power to the roof antenna signal amplifier built into the antenna head (the white box up there).

2) It (when on) switches the inputs of the wall plate from the outside signal source from campground cable to the roof antenna.

It should always be "OFF" when you want to watch campground cable and when you are not watching broadcast TV. It uses battery power and will deplete your battery if you are not on shore power.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Winegard Wall PLate Amp.pdf (143.1 KB, 22 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:46 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
thanks to all. got the winegard satellite working. my problem was a power source's low amperage. i had the 13.6 volts heading out to the dish, but it appeared to be weak. once i changed power sources on the converter, BAM! everything worked like it was supposed to. once again, thanks to all.
see y'all down the road!
__________________

__________________
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.