Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 07:41 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 19
Sorry it took a bit to get a pic up here but you can see a 4 kw onan fits right in perfectly. The exhaust is run out the bottom and to the right in the picture about six inches or so past the side of the rig. Inside the noise is noticeable but not at all loud. I am going to insulate the top side and back with mass loaded vinyl (look it up on ebay or google) just to give me a little bit more sound protection. As far as the transfer switch, campingworld has many different flavors but even the most basic automatic switch will work fine. It fits behind the main breaker panel under the fridge and automatically switches to generator when it senses power or the generator running. There are three electrical connections. Shore power IN, genny power IN, and load OUT. The out connects to the breaker panel where shore power was and you connect shore and generator to their inputs. Very straight forward install and clean. Hope this helps out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00188.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	26916  
__________________

__________________
harleycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:01 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
What about the fuel line? I understand about the electrical part. I just haven't got a lot of info on the two fuel lines. I think one is a supply and the other is a return.
__________________

__________________
2013 Puma Toyhauler
harrinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:31 PM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 19
So I had to go back and read and it seems that there is only one fuel line on this particular machine. It still has a carb of sorts which eliminates the need for a return line. Hopefully your fuel cell is prepped for a genny connection, if not I would suggest you have a dealer do that for you.
__________________
harleycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:56 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
harleycamper - was your puma equipped with a transfer switch or did you buy one? Also do i have to pull out the breaker panel to see behind it and look for the transfer switch?
__________________
ncamilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:56 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 19
no it was not equipped from the factory...it was added when the generator was added. If you didn't get a gen from the dealer, more than likely you won't have a transfer switch installed. If you upgrade to install one, it would however go behind the breaker panel. At least it was in my 351THSS.
__________________
harleycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:45 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
I looked at my 356 today. It already has a auto transfer switch and is wired up the front of my camper for a generator. I just have to pop a hole in the metal box for the wire and hook up my gas lines. Im sure the 351 is very similar. There is a 4 x 4 box in the main lower front compartment where the wire is for the generator.
__________________
2013 Puma Toyhauler
harrinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:51 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
I will take a look at mine when i get home. Is the 4 x 4 box located beside the battery?
__________________
ncamilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:14 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
No. mine was in the main front compartment that you access from the sides. Right behind the LP door. If yours is the same, the box was mounted at the top of the compartment, passenger side of camper, hard right of the inside of the door.

THere is a sticker on the box about generator wiring.
__________________
2013 Puma Toyhauler
harrinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:09 PM   #29
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
Found my transfer switch. Sound it sounds like the 351 is different than the 356. My transfer switch is already attached to the breaker panel. So I have a transfer switch and fuel. What I need to find now is a junction box where the generator wires run to so I can tap into that. Here is pic of the transfer box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	26958  
__________________
ncamilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:14 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
My transfer switch is identical to your pic. The box I am talking about is the end of the wire that you will hook to at the generator end.
__________________

__________________
2013 Puma Toyhauler
harrinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.