Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2015, 09:17 PM   #1

2015 vibe 272bhs flush kit

Hello and thank you a head of time. I am new to owning a TT I have been looking a round for a little bit. We have just bought the vibe 272bhs and were going to have the dealer install the black tank washout on for us. They told me $135 to install which was a good deal since this unit has the sealed underbody. So after I agreed to that price a few days go by and I get a call and told it will be an extra $400 to do it. I have told them no way. Ok I will be picking it up of the first time from the dealer on Monday April 13 and have less then a week to do what I want before taking it on our first trip. I am a automotive technician with over 15 years of experience. So my question would be is it really that hard to drop the underbelly cover and get to the black tank to really do this job or was the dealer trying to take me for a ride. I have the kit to do it and will be doing it I'm just trying to get some info before going for this job. Please thank you for the help a head of time. I do have friends that have been camping for years but never had one with the sealed and heated underbelly.
Lilrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 07:58 PM   #2

The $135 would be a fair price. I has quoted $275 for kit and install on previous RV. It didn't have enclosed belly. Wasn't bad to do on that one.

Getting the underbelly down isn't hard. There should be a vapor barrier and a couple of inches of insulation. Probably be easiest to cut the barrier and tape it back once you figure out the routing.

The only reason I could see the extra money is they were going to drop the tank but it can be installed at different places on the tank. Might not be the best performance. Most places don't like to do it on a used tank for the obvious reasons.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums