Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2016, 05:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy0374 View Post
Thats exactly what I want to do. And as for not having a gfi inline with it, the switch will be turned on when we set up at a spot, and left on as long as we're on shore power. Turned off when we break down. I basically keep it on the electric as I'm already paying for the electric, and no need to waste my gas.
Grumpy
Why would you need a switch? Does it not just shut off from power when shorepower is off anyway?
__________________

__________________
MtBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 05:37 PM   #12
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy0374 View Post
Getting ready to add an on/off switch for the 115 volt switch on my Surburban WH. Right now I'm controlling the on/off via the circuit breaker, the outside switch being left on all the time.
Rather than get fancy by hooking it up by the fuse panel, I can access the wire via a compartment in the bathroom. Could I not just cut the wire, attach it to the switch, and simply mount the switch in the bathroom?
Basically the outside on/off switch would be left on, and the new inside bathroom switch (with light to indicate on/off) would be mounted to the bathroom cabinet. Circuit breaker switch would be left "on".
Any input welcome.
Grumpy
Grumpy to make sure I am clear on this emboldened in red above. What wire (as in singular) are you talking about? Are you talking about the single hot wire that the outside switch is breaking the circuit on? Or something else?

I was not aware that the outside switch wire was very long as it runs internally from where the water heaters power cord enters the AC junction box on the water heater... to the electric element. I don't know where it is exposed for you to just cut this single wire and add a second switch, without running more wire.



Or are you perhaps talking about cutting into the water heaters power cord (that has a hot wire, neutral, and ground wire in it)?

The reason I ask, since the outside switch is just cutting the 120 volt hot lead (and nothing else, no neutral, no ground), how can you also connect a lighted switch to that one hot line, which usually requires a neutral for the light?
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 06:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
jtownstumpjumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Jonesboro AR--Home of Arkansas State University and the Red Wolves
Posts: 507
I did this on our 2014 Silverback 33RL...... Put it in the control panel...convenient because that's where the propane on/off switch is.

Here is the thread I followed.....

Water Heater Switch with Power-on Light
__________________
Lloyd & Kathy & Kit(18 yr old cat)
2018 Forest River Palomino Columbus 383FB
2016 Chevy 3500HD SRW Z71 LTZ 4WD Crew Cab, DuraMax/Allison.
2014 - 38 nights/3500 mi.; 2015 - 66 nights/6260 mi.; 2016 - 44 nights/6106 mi.
2017-59 nights/5901 mi.
jtownstumpjumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 06:22 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Re: switch for water heater in bathroom

If this water heater switch modification is in the bathroom and is within 6 feet of the sink or shower it will not meet the electrical code.
__________________
klaatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 06:34 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
wbdavey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oswego, NY
Posts: 287
Grumpy - I thought about adding a switch, but decided not to. The switch on my heater is just in front of my water connections on the left front of the trailer. I feel that I'm much more likely to remember to turn the heater off with the switch close to the water hose. Maybe your memory is better than mine.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Ultra Lite 2604 WS. Rear LR, large street side slide with small wardrobe slide in BR.
2014 Ram 1500 Eco Diesel Laramie Quad Cab.
wbdavey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 07:19 PM   #16
Sky&Scuba
 
kendive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
I also do this on every camper we owned. I like the switch that has the pilot light so when the water heater is on the light is lit. You can wire the switch either way.




.
Traded Flagstaff 25KS for a Catalina 253 RKS




.
__________________
2015 F150 3.5 EcoBoost Lariat FX4 502A 3.55 Gears Max Tow KO2 Tires
2017 Grand Design Imagine 2150 RB / Traded in Catalina 253RKS
kendive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 07:33 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,658
funny to hear so much talk about codes . you can believe our RV's are up to some code . but they aren't even close . I just replace a water pump in a new unit and it was located behind the distribution panel ,like just a few inches ,wires all over , no code there . if there was a leak it would soak thew converter and panel .
RV codes Thanks for giving me a good laugh it must be the rvia seal that means it's all good . . even in my 29hsf there are things that would not pass usbc codes . like the gfi in the bathroom so stuffed with wires that the cover bows out . CODE hahaha
__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 07:47 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,658
also worked on a unit last week where they ran the 12volt power for the furnace and fridge over the top of the fridge and the wires melted on the fridge coils . it was a new starcraft . codes still laughing . it would be one thing if inspectors had to sign off on all units just like when a house is built
__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 08:01 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbdavey View Post
Grumpy - I thought about adding a switch, but decided not to. The switch on my heater is just in front of my water connections on the left front of the trailer. I feel that I'm much more likely to remember to turn the heater off with the switch close to the water hose. Maybe your memory is better than mine.
Ding! Ding!
I never want/need to turn off my electric water heater circuit unless I'm standing by my hose connections as I pack up to leave a site. If I forget (and I usually don't since I have a checklist), the heater circuit goes dead when I unplug my cord from the pedestal.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 08:08 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,721
If you are worried about water, install a GCFI breaker.
__________________

__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, water, heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.