Old 04-21-2019, 02:08 PM   #1

Black Tank Drain Hose Help

My wife and I are new to RVing and I would like to get a good grasp on what you experienced RV people think is a good tough black water hose. How long should it be? I like the idea of the clear plastic fittings so you can see what's going on. I have seen a ramp type of hose holder advertised that you spread out and it tapers down and holds the drain hose. Is this worth having? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated since I have never done this before and I sure don't want to make any mistakes when it comes time to dump the tank.
Thanks,
Bill

bill18163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 02:29 PM   #2

Black Tank Drain Hose Help

I have 3 or 4 hoses, but the only one I use is my Rhino. I have a clear fitting on the dump end so I can tell whatís going on. I think my hose is 20 ft I have an extension, but I have never needed it.

I do not have a ramp, but I have thought about buying one. The only reason I didnít was because of the price for $2 worth of plastic. You only need it if you are camping with full hook ups. Itís required in some CGs if you leave the hose connected.

Welcome from Arkansas.

Old 04-21-2019, 02:30 PM   #3

I use Rhino Hose, a fifteen foot and a ten foot
spock123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 02:35 PM   #4

Welcome!

I got a RhinoFlex kit that had two 10 foot sections, caps and a white translucent elbow for the ground connection. I added a clear 45 and extra valve with bayonet fittings at the trailer. I also carry an extra 15í hose. If you get a RhinoFlex hose, tighten the collars on the hose before you use it, and check them occasionally.

I use a folding trestle support for the hose and bought two cheap plastic gutters and cut them to fit in the truck bed. I put the gutter pieces on the trestle then lay the hose in it. If I donít have a positive connection with the pipe at the campground, Iíll wrap some electrical tape around the pipe and elbow.