Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2017, 07:14 AM   #1

Question Can a basic water pressure regulator go bad(travel trailer)

Just purchased a 2013 Forest River travel trailer, and beginner camper it didn't come with an owner's manual and from what I've read most of them are pretty generic. Anyway I was wanting to know if one of the basic water pressure regulators without a gauge can ever go bad and why would I even need the Guage? My other question was what water pressure can this camper handle and would I even need an adjustable one?
StephanieR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:10 AM   #2

What do you consider a basic pressure regulator to be?

Bruce
Old 02-11-2017, 08:23 AM   #3

As a service plumber, I try to keep at least four pressure regulators on my truck at all times because they do not last forever. I usually replace about three per week. The life of a PRV depends mostly on how much work it has to do. In my service area the street pressure is mostly between 80psi to 120psi with a few areas at or above 140psi. The factory-set pressure on a (standard to me) PRV is 55psi, so the higher the pressure on the street side is, the sooner the PRV will fail. Hence, I replace more PRVs in my 120psi and 140psi areas than I do in the 80psi areas.

Keep in mind, the PRVs I use are "real" PRVs and not the in-line water restricting type they sell at the RV dealers. You can purchase smaller "real" PRVs that you can connect to your hose. Search at Watts Regulator for the best solution.

Here you go: http://www.watts.com/pages/_products...s.asp?pid=7665

Bruce
Old 02-11-2017, 08:36 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephanieR View Post