Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2017, 12:37 AM   #1

Composting and flip up sinks

My wife and I were out to a site that had electric/water but no sewer. We are new owners so this our first real test of relying on our holding tanks. We planned to be there 4 days but cut to three because of the prohibitive rain.
Our black and gray tank meters were at 2/3 or more but less than full. As a retired engineer, I am vexed by meters like this. I have already put in a real battery meter. I imagine we could make 4 days. This was the first time I used the shower and the first time I did a #2 in the can. I mean, my wife has, but I always managed to find a fire ring in an unused campsite or some such place … just kidding.
I noted that the gray tank was at 1/3 early in the game so we were using that tank faster. I also noted that I did not like the placing of the toilet, cabinet, and door to the bathroom. As I sat on it for the first time and closed the door, my knees were touching. I am not going to get graphic but for a variety of reasons, that doesn’t work. So the door remains open. My wife loves this aspect.