Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2014, 06:23 PM   #21
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
I just switch off the breaker that's labeled WH.
Some units may have other things on that circuit but mine is all alone
so I can use the breaker as an indoor switch.
Don't do it in the camper, but use the breakers to shut the electric heaters on and off in the garage for 14 yrs and they are still working. Do the same on everything else, welders, air compressor, lathe, etc. To me it is a much safer way of knowing they're off. Never had a breaker fail yet, knock on wood.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:33 PM   #22
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
All im saying is if that breaker fails from constant switching it could be bad the one time the breaker fails.
I don't give a crap if you've done it and your dad did it and his dad did it for one hundred years without problems.

I wont sacrifice my family's life for 30 minutes worth of work and to trust the breaker works after constant switching for which its not designed for.

Good luck

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:38 PM   #23
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
...I wont sacrifice my family's life for 30 minutes worth of work and to trust the breaker works after constant switching for which its not designed for...TURBS
What's to break? It either shuts it off or it doesn't. You can always shut the main off , it's right there or unplug the shoreline. Don't see any life threatening issue.

FWIW, I've seen more switches fail than breakers.

To each their own.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:14 PM   #24
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
We have a breaker in the office that controls the daytime lights. Been turned on and off at least 5 times a week, 52 weeks a year, for 40 years (that's about 21,000 operations). Still good, works well, and trips at the proper amperage (just tested the other month or so).

So, should you use a breaker as a switch? Probably not, but you aren't endangering anything. My experience is, short of a hugh amp spike that welds the contacts together, breakers fail open.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:25 PM   #25
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
We have a breaker in the office that controls the daytime lights. Been turned on and off at least 5 times a week, 52 weeks a year, for 40 years (that's about 21,000 operations). Still good, works well, and trips at the proper amperage (just tested the other month or so).

So, should you use a breaker as a switch? Probably not, but you aren't endangering anything. My experience is, short of a hugh amp spike that welds the contacts together, breakers fail open.

Rick
Most industrial shops I've been in do it the same way Rick.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:56 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
why would it have an "on" and "off" and not just a reset device if it wasn't to be used as a switch? They only cost several bucks a piece so big deal if it fails after 10 years of cycling on and off
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 08:36 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
All im saying is if that breaker fails from constant switching it could be bad the one time the breaker fails.
I don't give a crap if you've done it and your dad did it and his dad did it for one hundred years without problems.

I wont sacrifice my family's life for 30 minutes worth of work and to trust the breaker works after constant switching for which its not designed for.

Good luck

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
What's to break? It either shuts it off or it doesn't. You can always shut the main off , it's right there or unplug the shoreline. Don't see any life threatening issue.

FWIW, I've seen more switches fail than breakers.

To each their own.
Gents,

Y'all sound like an old married couple. You're both right, they're not officially switches, but I've never seen one wear out including the shop I worked in that used breakers as switches for decades.

The way breakers are designed they're supposed to fail open, though anything is possible, whether you mess with it or not.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 08:43 PM   #28
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by davel1971 View Post
why would it have an "on" and "off" and not just a reset device if it wasn't to be used as a switch? They only cost several bucks a piece so big deal if it fails after 10 years of cycling on and off
15 amp breaker at Lowes $3.48. 10 years =$0.35/yr
Shop Square D Homeline 15-Amp Single-Pole Circuit Breaker at Lowes.com
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:09 AM   #29
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutch View Post
Hi everyone,


Is there a thread out there on how to bring the outside electric switch on the hotwater tank and wired it inside? Thanks in adavnce.
Water Heater Switch with Power-on Light
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:21 AM   #30
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Don't see any life threatening issue.
FWIW, I've seen more switches fail than breakers.
Me too!! And if it fails it's most likely gonna fail open. At the factory where
I worked my entire career, it was rare for a breaker to wear out but it
did happen a few times. All the ones I remember failed open. I don't see
how that is life threatening....
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, heater, water, water heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.