Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Full pressure when using the tank flush??

I know that you should use a pressure regulator for city water when hooking up, but do you also use a regulator when you are flushing your black tank?
Thanks,
Craig
__________________

__________________
Sandblaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:35 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
I was wondering that too... I dumped my black water tank after a trip this past week and my sensers still show it is 3/4 full. Have you or any body experienced this before?
__________________

__________________
chevy2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,235
I use full pressure and a hose dedicated for that.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:38 AM   #4
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,711
Just this year, I took my black tank flush off of my water regulator (to save me a step hooking up). I don't foresee it being a problem.

As for the previous poster... yes, it's common that toilet paper gets on the sensors and shows a false reading. My 1/2 bath doesn't have a black tank flush yet- I've had to fill it with fresh water and then re-dump to get the TP off of the sensor.

There are replacement sensors (Horst Miracle Probes) that are a bit better. The factory sensors are pretty well know to be inconsistent.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mjones12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandblaster View Post
I know that you should use a pressure regulator for city water when hooking up, but do you also use a regulator when you are flushing your black tank?
Thanks,
Craig
I had that same question and was told by a very reliable source on this forum that because the tank flusher empties into a large area (the tank) it is not subject to the pressure issues that our regular plumbing systems are, so no regulator is needed. It's a good question because you want as much water pressure as possible to blast the inside of that black tank.
__________________
2018 Coachmen Apex 249 RBS
2010 Silverado LT 5.3 V8


The world is a great book, of which those who never stir from home
read only a page. - St. Augustine
mjones12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 04:14 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Thumbs up

Thanks for the information. I probably need to do that.
__________________
chevy2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 04:15 PM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
I use full pressure and a hose dedicated for that.
Me too.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:54 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newark Delaware
Posts: 7
Might need to clean your tank sensors remove them and clean the crud off of them and reinstall
__________________
amdavis20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 09:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevy2500 View Post
I was wondering that too... I dumped my black water tank after a trip this past week and my sensers still show it is 3/4 full. Have you or any body experienced this before?
Mine also came with the tank flusher fitted on the other side of the black tank. It does a good job of rinsing the tank clean however its too far and not concentrated enough to keep the probes clean. Traveling with TP on the probes should knock it off but doesn't. The problem is more like debris film coating between the probes which is just conductive enough to make circuits to the return side of the probes. I use a high velocity probe nozzle I fabricated from plastic pipe. You can also buy them commercially. Its a pain to bring a clean dry hose through a window but you'll have clean tank and probes using both methods.Once a month is plenty. I'd be cautious about removing those probes too often. You'll soon have enlarged holes and you'll be SOL.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 09:31 PM   #10
DDC
Senior Member
 
DDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Komoka Ontario
Posts: 2,363
I use a dedicated hose also but I never came across the need for a pressure regulator unless they can increase the pressure.
__________________

__________________
"Well that didn't go as expected"
2015 Chev 2500HD Highcountry Duramax
Cedar Creek Silverback 33IK
Donald&Casey cairn terrier
Rest in Peace Mary my darling wife.
Scottish by birth Canadian by time.
DDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.