Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2018, 09:33 AM   #1

Gray water

I'm new to the rv world, I've put camco sanitizer in both tanks during camping stays and I noticed a white gel substance when I emptied the Grey tank, this may be from the the camco stuff and may be bad. Any thoughts
Wonderful co-pilot
madatme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 09:52 AM   #2
Certified Curmudgeon

If you actually meant what you said “sanitizer”, then you are putting the wrong stuff in the wrong tank. Sanitizer is for your fresh water tank. Your black tank and MAYBE your gray tank should get a deodorizer and “enzyme” additive to de-stinkificate* and help break down solid waste and toilet paper. Since the gray tank only gets debris from dish washing and soap from showering, it seldom needs attention. Also, a black tank flush can help. They are easy to install on a towable.
Old 07-16-2018, 10:07 AM   #3
Insert witty title here

You only need to sanitize your fresh water tank once per season. Unless you have a weird odor coming up from your sinks, your gray is fine with just emptying it. There are many different methods for dealing with your black tank. I treat mine with those drop in tank treatment packs and always give it a good rinsing out every time I dump.

2021 Transcend Xplor 247BH
Husky WDH with Sway Control
2021 Chevy Silverado 2500HD LT 6.6L V8 Duramax
Forever in my memory. Forever in my heart.
Laurie J. Wood 3/22/67 - 8/23/19
timfromma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 10:16 AM   #4

You sanitize the fresh water tank using bleach once a year.
Dunp in digestive tabs or packets down the toilet after each dump followed with 5 gallons of water. Thats it.
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 04:53 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by madatme View Post