Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2018, 08:09 AM   #1

Hot Water Heater Problem - Newbie

I am living full time in a Forest River Salem Cruise Lite 2017 rbxl and am a complete newbie. And to be totally honest, I am a girl that's not very mechanically inclined. Everything runs off of electricity except the hot water heater and stove. When taking a shower last evening, I ran out of hot water shortly after beginning my shower. I assumed it was the propane tank. After changing it today, it still would not work. It seemed not to catch and would stop after a loud click. I am not sure what to try at this point. I think perhaps I might have done something wrong when changing the propane tanks. I am not sure what to try at this point. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
MLaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 08:23 AM   #2
Coach

How many showers had you taken before this happened? These hot water tanks are small and hot water doesn't last very long. Are you sure you just didn't run out of hot water and didn't allow enough recovery time?

2017 Sandpiper 381RBOK
2006 Ram 3500 Cummins Dually
valleyduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 08:24 AM   #3

Have you tried doing a search (at top of page toolbar) on water heater issues? Tons of info on the subject. I would suggest you fill out your profile somewhat. Don't know whereabouts you are fulltiming it, but, if cold weather is a factor, and I assume it is, don't be afraid to search topics like cold weather camping, propane use in cold temps and look into how propane behaves in low temps. Try asking Google as well. Are you running the WH on electric as well? Hope I've pointed you in the proper direction. Good luck and happy holidays!
jeff64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 08:37 AM   #4
dotsonjc