Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2015, 01:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Installing Horst tank sensors

I want to install Horst sensors on my Grey Wolf travel trailer. The stock sensors are glued in with some sort of impervious material so drilling new holes seems to be the only answer. However, I can't get to the top two sensors without dropping the tank. The tanks appear to be held in with angle iron that is removable. What I wonder is: how far can I drop the tank without causing the connections on the top of the tank to come loose? I have the feeling the tanks were set in the frame before the body of the trailer was added and some of the connections could be very difficult to get to were they to come loose.
Thanks, Mike
__________________

__________________
mharrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 07:57 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Can you post a photo?

Maybe it is just RTV sealant?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 10:32 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Hi Lou--We discussed this back in Nov. The pic is in the link below. I'm now to the point of dropping the tank, less risk I think, but I wonder how far I can drop it. Thanks

Replacing Tank Sensors
__________________
mharrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 10:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,101
I have the same type of sensor. They are glued or plastic welded in. If you want to put the horst sensors in i think you will need to drill new holes next to the existing sensors.
__________________
Ontario

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 01:26 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mharrel View Post
Hi Lou--We discussed this back in Nov. The pic is in the link below. I'm now to the point of dropping the tank, less risk I think, but I wonder how far I can drop it. Thanks

Replacing Tank Sensors
Ah, I thought the issue was familiar.

I don't have anything more to add than I already did.

Be careful dropping the tank, as the vent and inlet pipes may need to be severed and then coupled with a rubber sleeve union. I have neither dropped a tank nor seen one done. You may need professional advice.

Maybe a YouTube Video exists.

I found a repair the tank video, but the getting it out part was missing.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 04:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,070
Is there any place on the tanks where you can install new probes. Maybe there is another spot that is in the clear for drilling?
__________________
Evereddie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 09:39 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
You know, sometimes I have trouble thinking out of the box. I had just always planned to put the new sensors right next to the old ones. In reality, I can put them anywhere I want. I went to the other end of the tank and I can get an angle drill in there. Patch in some wiring and I'm done. Now, I haven't done it yet, but will as soon as it quits raining. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
mharrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 04:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
I finished installing the sensors--no problem. For the black water tank, I went to the other end of the tank and installed them there. I had to add jump wires but that was no problem. It also occurred to me that if there were no way to get at the tank, holes could be drilled through the I beam slightly larger than the 3/8 hole the sensor has to have. Then drill the hole in the tank through the hole in the I beam. Thanks to all who helped.
__________________
mharrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 05:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,070
Have you used them long enough to tell an improvement?
__________________
Evereddie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 05:56 PM   #10
boatman
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 92
mharrel if your talking about drilling a hole in the main camper frame I beam bad idea you should never drill a hole in your frame.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.