Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2015, 01:57 PM   #11
Ready to Go
 
JeffLynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Seffner, FL
Posts: 61
Inside my 5er (in the kitchen) I have a cabinet with all my light switches, slideouts, awning, system readout.. (battery and holding tanks) and my water heater. I see you don't have that, I had a Golf Stream a few years ago and a switch in the heater area. There was a pin to lock it in GAS position, once I pulled the pin out I was able to switch it to electric.
__________________

__________________
The Lessmiller's

2001 F250 SD 7.3 Turbo
2013 Sanibel 39' 5th wheel.
JeffLynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 02:01 PM   #12
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,318
The switch inside the water heater door outside the unit is for electric operation and the switch inside the RV at or near the command center (switch panel) is for gas operation.

The electric switch (outside) doesn't make a sound when it's switched on. On the last two heaters we've owned, on is down and off is up on this switch.

On the switch inside the RV once you turn it on, there's a wait time of several seconds before the burner tries to light. It isn't instantaneous. If you're not waiting long enough after you turn that switch on before you turn it back off, you'll never hear the gas valve open or the igniter fire.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 02:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 270
EXTREME CAUTION: be absolutely sure you have water in the heater before trying the electric element. It will burn out is seconds if the tank is dry.
__________________
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 02:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: oakdale, ca
Posts: 289
The switch in side the rv is for propane. prpane should be your 1st to go to. The switch out side the rv or in the wh compartment is for electric. If you are turning on the switch inside the rv and not getting a propane ignition then you may have one of two issues, Either the switch is bad or the icnitor for propane is bad. Your unit is almost 1 year old so air in the lines is not an issue at this point.
__________________
j free is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 02:22 PM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
ColoradoRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 953
Another note is that the gas won't come on if the electric already has the water heated to the proper temperature. (When more than one is taking a shower, we'll have both on but the gas won't light until it's at a cooler temperature.)
__________________
Rick & Karen
(Retired USAF, MSgt)
Monument, Colorado
6-year Travel Trailer RVers
2013 Forest River Rockwood Ultra-Lite 2904SS
2014 Toyota Tundra Maxcrew SR-5 TRD 4x4 (with Firestone airbags in the rear)
ColoradoRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 02:55 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: getzville, ny
Posts: 35
My understanding is that the switch on the outside at the tank is for electric only. If on and plugged in to shore power, the heater will run on 110 volts. If you're in a campground and hooked up to electric you can save propane by turning this switch on. If you are not hooked up to electric, then you use the switch in the camper control panel to select propane. I'm not entirely sure but I think if you have both switches on, the heater defaults to electric. At least that's how my fridge works.

I don't need the water heater constantly heating water so I keep the outside switch off until i want hot water, then I'll either use the outside switch for electric use or use the panel switch for propane.
__________________
bobm253 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 03:02 PM   #17
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,318
Water heaters work a little different than fridges. On the water heaters you can use the electric element and the gas burner at the same time. It allows you to heat water a little faster than either alone. We usually use the electric exclusively unless we're camping where there's no electric hookups.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 03:06 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: getzville, ny
Posts: 35
thanks for that info.
__________________
bobm253 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 03:07 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Pod2Vibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dublin Ranch, CA
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexi2007 View Post
We have a 2015 Forest River FR3, that is probably already little more than a year old. There are two switches on the control panel, one says Water Heater [on/off] and Tank Heater. There is also an on/off switch outside at the water heater. I don't know what sequence to follow and which switches to turn on/off and when. Hubby was inside at the control panel and I was outside at the WH. I told him to turn on the Water Heater on/off switch, I listened and heard nothing. We tried with the switch AT the WH on and again in the off position. I had him turn it on and off a third, still nothing. If we have propane to the stove, fridge and furnace, can I assume that there is nothing else to turn on at the water heater? I'm beginning to think there is a lot of air in the lines. What would really help me a lot is a step by step sequence to follow, at least the first couple of times.

As always, thank you for taking the time to give the advice and support.
Let me rephrase this.... Search for this issue on the FR3 sub forum, someone there may have had your same issue. (Someone with the same rig and water heater as you) Good Luck!
__________________
Pod2Vibe
2015 Solera MBS 24R - Hellwig/Sumo Equipped
TOAD: 2014 Fiat 500 Abarth

(Sold the Vibe 6506)
Pod2Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 03:09 PM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pod2Vibe View Post
If you post this on the FR3 sub forum, someone there may have had your same issue. Good Luck!
Do not start a new post on the same subject in another sub section.

Have this one moved.

Frankly this subforum is the right place for it.

Forum posting rules.
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ork&page=rules

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "27 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie, propane

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.