Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2012, 07:46 AM   #1

Reinstalling anode rod

Hello,
I'm new to the RV world purchasing my 2012 2300 Sunseeker last Fall. I am de-winterizing and having trouble reinstalling the anode rod. Any pointers? Also, I'm a little scared not knowing for sure if the tank for the hot water is full before I try to heat it. I apparently didn't have the "blue line water" turned in the off position all winter. Any sure way to know the hot water heater is full before I try to heat it? Thank you for any help you can offer.
Bensonsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:57 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou

First off do you have the correct size 1 and 1/16 inch socket?

Channel locks or vice grips will destroy your anode or damage your heater.

After you Teflon tape (or Teflon paste) your threads, install the anode so it is water tight.

Set your valves correctly for normal operation; not bypass.

Turn on the water and open the pressure relief valve. Air should start hissing out of the heater as it fills. When water comes out; close the pressure relief valve. Water should stop dripping. (If it leaks after it is reseated, you will need a new valve.)

Open the hot water faucets and let the water run till it is NOT PINK and stops spitting. Then you can turn on the heat.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:07 AM   #3

Yes, I have the 1 1/16 socket. I'm using a little Black and Decker hand drill called the Swivel. Since the motorhome was barely used last year, I didn't reapply Teflon tape but will.
Old 04-23-2012, 08:09 AM   #4

Sorry, iPad default... Is the pressure relief valve in the same vicinity as the anode? Thank you for your quick response.
Old 04-23-2012, 08:13 AM   #5
Site Team - Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bensonsmom View Post