Old 02-19-2019, 07:15 PM   #1

Replacing PEX Fittings Question

This is my first time working with PEX. I have received new PEX tools and was going to add some shutoff valves to the hot water line drain (there is that screw on cap there now) and the line to the toilet. Will probably add valves to the other fixtures also.

I was thinking about replacing some of the plastic fittings with brass over time and wanted to know if there would be a good seal if I just removed the existing cinch clamp and installed a new clamp in the same location without cutting the pipe. It might be best if I just trimmed the pipe and start fresh, but I am concerned there would not be enough slack in the pipe.

Some expert advice would be appreciated.

Old 02-19-2019, 07:19 PM   #2

normally to get the crimp ring off a fitting you need to cut the PEX as close as possible to the fitting and then use a crimp ring removal tool. Myself if there isn't enough play I just add some PEX with a straight fitting to the existing pipe.

2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 07:24 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by PoppySteve View Post
This is my first time working with PEX. I have received new PEX tools and was going to add some shutoff valves to the hot water line drain (there is that screw on cap there now) and the line to the toilet. Will probably add valves to the other fixtures also.

I was thinking about replacing some of the plastic fittings with brass over time and wanted to know if there would be a good seal if I just removed the existing cinch clamp and installed a new clamp in the same location without cutting the pipe. It might be best if I just trimmed the pipe and start fresh, but I am concerned there would not be enough slack in the pipe.