Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 07:07 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,279
Suburban Water Heater Wiring (propane)

In doing a diagnostic wiring search for a "non-existent" propane problem (propane burner would not fire......water not cool enough......duh-uh ), I noticed the wire from the inside propane switch goes to the propane thermostat. The wiring diagram in manual shows that it should be connected to the hi-limit switch. Every thing has worked fine with this setup (now ), but could this cause me a problem in the future ??? Not a big deal to switch the wires, but if everything works why mess with it unless y'all think it might be a problem.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,417
Chap, the high limit switch IS the propane thermostat.

Below 100 degrees it is closed (calling for heat) above 120 degrees it is open (removes power to solenoid valve).
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:19 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,279
Lou, the 12 volt wire goes to a plain "device", then the fuse-able link goes to a "device" with a reset button on it. I presumed the 1st "device" is the thermostat, but not sure.

In the wiring diagram, it shows a hi-limit switch and a thermostat.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,417
The photo below is of BOTH "devices" (One on the left is for the AC and the one on the right is for DC per the attached wiring diagrams).

The entire device is called the "Thermostat"

The top "button" is the high limit reset on the High Limit (120 degree) thermostat; then a fusable wire is connected to the Low Limit (100 degree) thermostat. Both thermostats need to be closed for the propane to flow.

The AC thermostat is blown in the photo as you can see the fusible wire has actually melted.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Limit Switch Reset.jpg
Views:	1029
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	15833   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC diagram.jpg
Views:	2560
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	15834   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	1647
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	15835  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:33 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,279
Now I got it. Thanks for explaining that.

Does it matter if the wire from the inside switch goes lo-limit thermostat ?? The wiring diagram shows the wire going to the hi-limit switch, but mine is wired to the lo-limit switch.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:44 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnguy View Post
Now I got it. Thanks for explaining that.

Does it matter if the wire from the inside switch goes lo-limit thermostat ?? The wiring diagram shows the wire going to the hi-limit switch, but mine is wired to the lo-limit switch.
No, they are connected in series so it does not matter.
If you are a perfectionist, you can swap the wires top to bottom to make it like the wiring diagram says. It will not effect function at all.

The TStat is changed out as a unit. Maybe it was changed before?
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:23 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
No, they are connected in series so it does not matter.
If you are a perfectionist, you can swap the wires top to bottom to make it like the wiring diagram says. It will not effect function at all.

The TStat is changed out as a unit. Maybe it was changed before?
Since it doesn't matter, I am not going to mess with it. It was probably wired like that from the factory. Both wires are red, and since it doesn't matter, I imagine the electrician at the factory didn't know which was which and just wired the unit without looking.

Thanks Again.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.