Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2017, 06:46 PM   #1

Toilet smell while stored

Hello all, let me start by saying this is my first camper with a toilet so I'm still learning. Here's my problem.

We went camping about a month ago and used the toilet no problem. Dumped the tank before were left for home. Today I was getting the trailer ready for our trip this week and noticed the toilet had an odor. So I stepped on the lever and a nasty odor got me. So am I doing something wrong? Should I be putting water in the black tank when it's parked for a while? Should I put an additive in the black tank? Should I keep some water in the bowl over the seal?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Mammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 06:49 PM   #2

Water or antifreeze over the seal all year helps.
Old 06-29-2017, 06:50 PM   #3
Senior Veteran RV Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mammoth View Post
Hello all, let me start by saying this is my first camper with a toilet so I'm still learning. Here's my problem.

We went camping about a month ago and used the toilet no problem. Dumped the tank before were left for home. Today I was getting the trailer ready for our trip this week and noticed the toilet had an odor. So I stepped on the lever and a nasty odor got me. So am I doing something wrong? Should I be putting water in the black tank when it's parked for a while? Should I put an additive in the black tank? Should I keep some water in the bowl over the seal?

A little water and some tank treatment additive if you are storing it for a long time. If I were you, I would fill that black tank up to nearly full, and let it sit for a few hours to loosen up whatever is still stinking the tank up. Then, dump the tank. It should clean it out!
Old 06-29-2017, 07:09 PM   #4