Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2016, 10:27 PM   #1

water filter canister busted!!! help!!

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the forum. I have read a lot on here and have learned quite a bit. I'm a newbie and recently started full timing in my cross country.

I've experienced some cold weather recently and my camco water filter canister froze up and busted. I'm trying to find a replacement.

I jumped on amazon and ordered a new camco water filter system and had it delivered in two days. However, when I tried to put the canister on, it didn't fit. Now I'm back to zero!

Does anyone have any ideas where I can get a replacement canister?

Thanks for your time!!!
retiredchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 10:37 PM   #2

Did you just purchase the canister or the whole unit? If you purchased the whole water filter just replace the old with the new.
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 11:08 PM   #3

well I ordered what I thought was a replacement. however, I received a full housing with fittings and hose for a filter that sits out in the yard outside of the rv. the casing/or canister is the same, but for some reason the threads are a little bit larger than the threads on my rv system. I even tried to supplement the size by wrapping pipe tape around the threads of the male end of the system...which is mounted on my rv.

Well, I'm still looking for a suitable replacement.

I couldn't even find a kit to replace the one I have.

I suppose this will be something I have to rely on Camping world to fix.

Meanwhile, I'm sitting in an rv park without water.....well I have gallon jugs of water sitting around all over the place but not running water....

Thanks for you help and your time.

Take Care!!!!
Old 01-21-2016, 11:49 PM   #4
WFD