Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 09:05 AM   #1
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Water heater not working on AC (SOLVED)

My water heater only seems to be working on propane.

There is a switch outside in the WH area it had a pin in it to keep it Off. I turned on the switch on the inside of the trailer next the to the propane switch. Left it on over night still no hot water. I also tried with both switches on and still no luck. I checked the breakers everything is ok.

Is there something else i'm missing?
__________________

__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:10 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD
My water heater only seems to be working on propane.

There is a switch outside in the WH area it had a pin in it to keep it Off. I turned on the switch on the inside of the trailer next the to the propane switch. Left it on over night still no hot water. I also tried with both switches on and still no luck. I checked the breakers everything is ok.

Is there something else i'm missing?
Did you check the reset breakers on hw heater?
Was it full of water when you turned on electric and or propane switches?
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:23 AM   #3
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Yes, i reset the breaker just to make sure, tested the pressure valve to make sure there was water in it. Worked in a short time with the propane.
__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:32 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD
Yes, i reset the breaker just to make sure, tested the pressure valve to make sure there was water in it. Worked in a short time with the propane.
Take heater element cover off and turn on electric side of heater.
Make sure water is cold.
Check across both terminals at element. You should have no less than 110v.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:39 AM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The AC side of the water heater is independent of the propane side. It is the simplest to troubleshoot as well.

The two limit switches are located under the rubber reset covers. Press both (through the rubber cover!) and try the AC again.

If that does not work remove the two screws holding the rubber cover on and check for AC voltage. If you have voltage on one of the terminals of the AC limit switch but not on the other after you reset it, the limit switch is bad.

Note the one on the left (AC in this photo) has "opened" and the one on the right (DC) is "OK".

If you have AC voltage on both terminals and still no hot water, the heating element is bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC diagram.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	16316   Click image for larger version

Name:	Limit Switch Reset.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	16317   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hot Water Heater.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	16318   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rocker Switch.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	16319  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks a lot. I will try that out tonight.
__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:58 PM   #7
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Found the issue, there were wires behind the water heater not hooked up properly. Easy fix.
Thanks for all your help.
__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:30 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vidor, Texas
Posts: 9
Does both switches have to be in the on position to use electricity?
__________________
vduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:37 PM   #9
MaD
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Mine had a pin through the switch in the outside compartment. This means the switch is a dummy switch. It was in off position with a pin through it.
__________________
MaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD View Post
Mine had a pin through the switch in the outside compartment. This means the switch is a dummy switch. It was in off position with a pin through it.
That's not always true. Most Suburban WHs are shipped with the pin thru the switch to keep them from being turned on accidentally without water in the tank. Alot of Suburban WHs do not have an AC switch on the inside of the trailer..only a propane switch. Then you have to go outside and turn on that toggle switch to get it to run on electric.
__________________

__________________
bob213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.