Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 08:17 AM   #1
ns-sabre
 
ns-sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Water heater not working (SOLVED)

Searched on water heater and saw this forum . We are about 4 hrs from dealer and about to head out on week trip to Maine and water heater has started to act up. We generally use electric, which has stopped working. I have reset breaker etc without luck. Used propane one day and then it stopped. I thought maybe because it was a very windy day. We travelled one day and the propane came on last night, however this am propane is not working ( stove etc has propane) any ideas or suggestions?

Any ideas on water heater appreciated.
__________________

__________________
ns-sabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:26 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The Propane and VAC parts of the water heater are TWO completely different systems). The only common denominator is the water in the boiler itself.

So, I would be looking at the water over heating and opening the high limit switches on each thermostat.

Remove the outside cover over the water heater and push in on the two rubber circles and see if the limit switch bellows reset. If they are "set" you might need to remove the rubber cover and examine the thermostats themselves for damage (like the burned out fusible link in the left (VAC) thermostat).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC diagram.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	18829   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	18830   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03543.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	18831   Click image for larger version

Name:	Limit Switch Reset.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	18832  
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
ns-sabre
 
ns-sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Thank you Herk very much for quick reply. I checked as per your instructions, reset seemed ( see attached). Still no electric. On the propane it was sparking but not lite. Si I decided to open second lp tank, and it fired up. I usually only keep one tank open, so when it goes red I know to switch and fill. Wondering even thought indicator was green if first tank is getting low so as ok flow to stove, but not water heater? Won't be surprising as have been running on that lp tank for a while. Test a few more times before conclusive, can live with lp heater until fall dealer visit.
__________________
ns-sabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:02 AM   #4
ns-sabre
 
ns-sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ns-sabre
Thank you Herk very much for quick reply. I checked as per your instructions, reset seemed ( see attached). Still no electric. On the propane it was sparking but not lite. Si I decided to open second lp tank, and it fired up. I usually only keep one tank open, so when it goes red I know to switch and fill. Wondering even thought indicator was green if first tank is getting low so as ok flow to stove, but not water heater? Won't be surprising as have been running on that lp tank for a while. Test a few more times before conclusive, can live with lp heater until fall dealer visit.


Sorry, forgot pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-401198861.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	18838   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2867227060.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	18839  
__________________
ns-sabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:14 PM   #5
ns-sabre
 
ns-sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
As a update the propane continues to generally work, generally as once or twice the dsi lite has come on and I had to rest switch. Maybe this is common on propane side as I have typically used electric. In regards to opening second tank i recall I had to do this in cold weather in the spring for heater. Heater actually would not work one time when one tank was empty.a little troublesome as its means always having to keep both tanks fairly full to insure heat or hot water. Will have dealer check regulator in fall service.
As for the electric have checked best i can, including meter at element( no ac , but breaker is not tripped). Will run on propane until i get to dealer. Thanks again Herk.
__________________
ns-sabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:29 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ns-sabre View Post
As a update the propane continues to generally work, generally as once or twice the dsi lite has come on and I had to rest switch. Maybe this is common on propane side as I have typically used electric. In regards to opening second tank i recall I had to do this in cold weather in the spring for heater. Heater actually would not work one time when one tank was empty.a little troublesome as its means always having to keep both tanks fairly full to insure heat or hot water. Will have dealer check regulator in fall service.
As for the electric have checked best i can, including meter at element( no ac , but breaker is not tripped). Will run on propane until i get to dealer. Thanks again Herk.
If the buttons do not "set" when you push them in then they are most likely "OK" and you VAC heater element is most likely burned out and needs replacing.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 115
I am having a problem as well,only on the vac side,I checked for current at the recepticle in the trailer,it,s o.k,current going through the left side of hi temp thermostat,but no current at element,there is a module on top of the water heater with looks like printed circuits in it,stuck for an answer here!
__________________
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:59 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
Has the water heater ever been on AC power with no water in it...it will fry the element in a few seconds. It's not expensive or hard to change out.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:05 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
To check a bad element
You can disconnect the two wires going to the heating element and use an ohm meter "one probe to each screw" to check if element is "open"
If it is open element is trash can material.

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tom50mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tecumseh,Ontario
Posts: 115
I checked the element registers 10.6 ohms,I think between 10 and 16 ohms it is o.k,been on the road for 2 weeks now with out any problems until this morning,It works on gas fine though!
__________________

__________________
tom50mg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.