Old 05-15-2011, 02:01 PM   #1

Water heater wont start

Hi there ,

Total newbie here, so please forgive if I'm asking something silly.

I have just taken out of storage my brand new wildwood xlite trailer. It comes with suburban gas only heater.

I have made sure the gas in on( both heater and stove work). Filled the water heater with water. (bypass disengaged).

I have installed the rod with the plug back in. Then when I follow the starting instructions nothing happens. Problem is that I can't seem to find the reset button every manual I could find talkes about. Further to that the pictures in the manuals are not representative of that the water heater controls look like....
What's worse when I flip a switch on what it looks like control board, there is some electrical arcs going from a terminal to what it looks like a small cathode lamp. I'm pretty sure that's not suppose to happen.

I could attach pictures or send video to anyone interested to help out. Via email.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3810227001.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	5805  

Old 05-15-2011, 05:13 PM   #2
Grape Escape

Try purging gas line by lighting burner on stove first. I find fridge and water heater will time out trying to ignite.
I have to do this every time I have shut the propane tanks off.
Works every time

44 for 2011, 38 for 2012, 35 for 2013, 51 for 2014
dezolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:33 PM   #3

If the picture you have posted is your heater it is a manual light unit. Turn knob to pilot position and push down while inserting a flame into the burner opening. Hold flame till pilot lights. When the pilot is lit turn to on position.
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:41 PM   #4

Thanks for your response. Like I
Mentioned the stove burners are working fine. This is a brand new tt.
Problems seems to be with the sequence of starting. Manuals I have don't correspond to what the w/h looks like.