Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-07-2011, 05:40 PM   #1

Unhappy Water Pump Problem

Recently bought a used Rockwood Ultralite 8283SS and am having trouble with the water pump. (Everything works fine with city water.)

First, there's plenty of water in the fresh tank and I've check the connections on the pump for tightness.

Sometimes it seems to work fine. Other times you turn the water on and there's nothing but if you wait long enough, (maybe even minutes) then the pump comes on and water flows.

Other times the pump runs (it seems like it may be making less noise though) constantly whether you're calling for water or not. I've even had it come on when no one was in the trailer and no one was using any water at all.

Is this a bad pump, bad water connections, electrical or something else. I'm a relative newbie so please be detailed in any explanations.

Thanks,

bschift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:41 PM   #2

I had a similar problem with my 2012 8621SS. Turned out the water line from the tank to the tee before the pump wasn't aligned when they crimped it. Also the anti-freeze inlet check valve was sucking air. Got the water line re-aligned and a ball valve installed between the inlet and the pump and all is good now!
cowpaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 07:24 PM   #3

I'll try to check those out. Is the "tee before the pump" located near the pump or by the tank?

Also, what is the "anti-freeze inlet check valve?"

I noticed I have one hose that goes into a 4-way "tee" that isn't connected to anything. Does anyone have an idea if that's right?

Does anyone have a diagram of how all the hoses by the pump are supposed to be hooked up? I have a water filter down there too. Could that have anything to do with this?
Old 08-07-2011, 07:32 PM   #4