Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-20-2018, 01:34 PM   #1

Winterization trouble

I have an XLR 29HFS and I’m new to winterizing. I got plenty of RV antifreeze and I have a hose and funnel hooked up to my “fresh water” connection. I tried opening the faucets inside, I tried opening the low point drains, and I have already drained and by-passed the water heater.

For some reason the antifreeze does NOT feed into the fresh water tank. I have a hose end with a funnel and it doesn’t drain into the tank. Any idea why?? I can’t figure out out to get the antifreeze into the tank. I had planned to just use the onboard water pump to pump antifreeze throughout all the fixtures but I can’t even get antifreeze to go in! Any ideas?
scottrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:37 PM   #2

No need to go through the FW tank. You can take the inlet line off the pump and attach a fitting with a piece of hose to draw directly from the jug. You can get the correct fitting at any RV dealer. There are 2 that I know of, a snap fitting and a screw on fitting.
Hensley Hitch
Cabinfever97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:43 PM   #3
Scoundrel

^^^^^ This.... typically we don't want antifreeze in the fresh water tank. Simply drain the fresh water tank and use the pump to pull antifreeze out of the jug and into the plumbing.

Wooden Spoon Survivor
HangDiver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 02:12 PM   #4
Site Team

DONT put antifreeze in the FW tank.
1. Not necessary if it's drained since it has plenty room for the little bit of remaining water to expand if it freezes.
2. You'll have to use lots of water to flush it out, to get rid of the AF taste.
3. Same thing for the holding tanks, as long as they are drained.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package