Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 138
100 ft. 30 amp cord?

Does anyone know where I can buy a 100 foot 30 amp cord to plug in my TT? I know that with distance there will be some voltage drop. I was trying to avoid connecting extension cords together. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
marcusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Most 30amp power cords are 10 gauge. It is recommended that any length over 25-30 feet you need to use 8 gauge wire to hold the voltage to 30 amps. Up to 100', now that is a different animal. I'm sure you will see a voltage drop at that distance. That's not good for appliances. Just watch your amps and be aware to overheating issues of the cord.
__________________

__________________
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I made one as I need 100 foot often.

I bought 100 foot of 8 Gauge rubber jacketed 2 wire w/G and put 30 amp ends on it.

Voltage drop is there, but the Franks Autotransformer takes care of the "delta".
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,019
If for perm.use I would go with (1) cord. 99% of the time traveling a (30) works for us. We have a (50) that we plug in for the (1%) need. 100 foot of cord for traveling use is a (Bear) to handle. Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I made one as I need 100 foot often.

I bought 100 foot of 8 Gauge rubber jacketed 2 wire w/G and put 30 amp ends on it.

Voltage drop is there, but the Franks Autotransformer takes care of the "delta".

I don't know that I'm comfortable with making my own.
__________________
marcusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:39 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusfan View Post
I don't know that I'm comfortable with making my own.
REALLY easy. The ends come with instructions.

I keep the 100 footer in a milk crate and only load it when I am going to locations where I "know" I will need it. The 30 foot "bought" extension cord ALWAYS travels with us.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 138
Lou, where did you buy the wire and 30 amp ends?
__________________
marcusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:59 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Got the wire here:

http://www.ramcorpwire.com/proddetai...wer-Cord-Cable

They also carry 4 wire for 50 amp users.
http://www.ramcorpwire.com/proddetai...wer-Cord-Cable

Got the ends from Amazon

Camco Mfg 55242 30-Amp Power Grip Plug : Amazon.com : Automotive

Amazon.com: Camcoģ PowerGrip™ Replacement Receptacle Female: Automotive
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 08:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 582
Go to an electrical wholesaler and ask for 3C/10 STW cable 600V. (Two conductors are hot + neutral and the 3rd is for ground) You should be able to buy it by the foot. The Marinco cord we have is STW jacketted. If they have 300V, that's all you need. I think the spec for the cable that normally comes with an RV is "SJOW" jacketted IIRC. That should be a bit cheaper if they have it. The STW jacketted cable is more flexible in cold temps. You need a cable jacket that has a "W" rating for wet locations.

If you can replace 15 amp cord ends on a regular extension cord, you will have no trouble with the 30A ends.

Crazy thing with the cordsets that are out there (Marinco, Conntek, etc.) is that buying just a 30 amp plug and 30 amp connector can cost almost as much as a complete cordset. I'd see what's on ebay or Amazon. I found the best price on a 30A connector at Overton's Marine.

Ditto on the voltage drop concern.
__________________
Gil & Deb & Dougal the Springer Spaniel
Langley, BC
myredracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 08:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
I work at an electrical shop and if a customer brought in the male and female ends, we'd most likely make up the cord for free as long as you were buying the cord from us. I have one like what you want that I made with 8-3 SJOW cord and plugs from Amazon. I like the ones witht the built in handles on them.
__________________

__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.