Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2014, 06:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
110 volt labels

The only 110 breaker labeled in my panel is the main. Can some one tell me what they control so I can mark them without me having to do it the hard way of one at a time and checking to see what comes on? The 12V side is all labeled but not the 110v side so anyone with a Rockwood 8289 if yours is labeled can you list them in order, I looked in the FR section and couldn't find any threads. Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 07:04 AM   #2
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
To me, common breakers are:
Main 30A
A/C 20A
HWH 15A
Converter 15A
Outlets 15A
Microwave 15A
Refer 15A

Some may be combined. All campers are different. Flip them one at a time and see what goes on and off.
__________________

__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 07:53 AM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,720
I would be shocked (pun intended) if your breakers were the same
order as the next one off the assembly line.
I believe you'll have to flip and check what's off to know for sure.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 08:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
I would be shocked (pun intended) if your breakers were the same
order as the next one off the assembly line.
I believe you'll have to flip and check what's off to know for sure.
X2!

Sent from my NX008HD8G using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 08:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Filthy Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
I bought a circuit tracer for use in my house and want to take it to the RV and check to make sure my labeling is right.
__________________
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Duramax and Allison 6 speed
2012 Wildcat 282RKX

You can't make things idiot proof, you can only make them idiot resistant.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 12:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Well I have finished tracing out my 110v wire and breakers. I also know why we trip the 15 amp breaker so often. I can not believe that FR would put 7 outlets and a refer on (1) 15 amp breaker, to make things worst they added my convertor to the same breaker. I added a new breaker 15 amp to separate my convertor off that same breaker.
Now I have
1)Main 30 amp
2)GFI bath and bedroom and basement (total 5 plugs)
3)Microwave 20 amp
4)A/C 20 amp
5)Convertor 15 amp
6)water heater 15 amp
7)Fireplace 15 amp
8)main area,refer, t/v, (1)outside recp, 6 duplex outlets inside 15 amp
9) empty 15 amp
It is the main area that bothers me all that on 15 amps only. Well now I know what is what and why things keeps tripping it.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 07:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
no matter how you wire it or how many breakers you have, you still have to be mindful of how much stuff is being used at once. Still limited to 30 amps. A challenge at times.
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 07:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by davel1971 View Post
no matter how you wire it or how many breakers you have, you still have to be mindful of how much stuff is being used at once. Still limited to 30 amps. A challenge at times.
That is very true, And I'm aware of that. My point is that if they separated the outlets, you would be able to run a 1500 watt heater and a coffee pot with out popping a breaker everytime you then would still be under 30 amps but you could run both at the same time. And still be under the 30 amps that you have to work with. You are correct it is a challenge but it should not have 7 outlets on 15 amps.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:45 AM   #9
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,720
My power center is next to the sink so the wiring was easy to access.
Just open the cabinet door under the sink!
I added an outlet in the toe kick area next to the power center.
This outlet is on it's own breaker. It took all of 5' of romex wire to do the
job. I bought an "old work" box, new duplex outlet and cover and 15A breaker all
for about $10 and the job wasn't even a 2 beer job! Now we can use a
heater and brew coffee at the same time. Have never tripped my 30 A
main in the trailer or the power pole in 5 years camping in this trailer.
At least my fridge is on it's own circuit!
__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 12:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
My power center is next to the sink so the wiring was easy to access.
Just open the cabinet door under the sink!
I added an outlet in the toe kick area next to the power center.
This outlet is on it's own breaker. It took all of 5' of romex wire to do the
job. I bought an "old work" box, new duplex outlet and cover and 15A breaker all
for about $10 and the job wasn't even a 2 beer job! Now we can use a
heater and brew coffee at the same time. Have never tripped my 30 A
main in the trailer or the power pole in 5 years camping in this trailer.
At least my fridge is on it's own circuit!
I really do not like cold weather camping to begin with. I have looked at were I could add an outlet. I guess I could take the bottom step thread off and put it in that corner in the face, and like you said and I agree that it would end my problem. It is just a shame that the factory would put so many outlets on a 15 amp circuit. You know that would never pass code in Virginia on a house. For some reason they get by with this in the RV world......
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.