Old 10-13-2012, 08:35 AM   #1
12 volt Ceiling fan switch is hot

We have a 2012 Salem 393FKDS Park Trailer. We have 12 volt ceiling fans in the bedroom and also in the living room area. Each is on a different circuit. The fan in the living room started shutting itself off. I'm not an electrician but I do small repairs, as most handy men, when I can.
I started investigating the problem. I removed the switch from the wall and found that as the fan ran, the switch became hotter to the touch, until the fan shut itself off. (This switch is the brains of the fan. On/off, forward/reverse, with speed control.) I ordered a new switch from Forest River and replaced it. The new switch does the same thing. Where do I go from here. For now, we are not using the fan. We have no problems with the bedroom fan. Thanks for any suggestions you can give me.

Dave and Linda
2010 Surveyor SV264
Full timing since 07'
On the Road Again!
Indian Creeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:26 AM   #2
Check all your connections from the battery to the switch. If any are lose or corroded you may have extra resistance which causes heat. Also the motor may either have issues or need to be cleaned. Try blowing the motor out. and cleaning the fan blades.

- 06 Salem LE 28BHS (axles flipped), Boliy Pro3600ES Generator
Dodge Dakota 4.7l HO (260hp/310torq), 131 in wheel base
3.92 gears with towing pkg, Reese dual cam sway control
Tekonsha P3 break controller
- 36 ft Monterey cabin cruiser, Stainless blender
Two 4.7 GXi I/O (2 x 320hp = 640hp) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:49 AM   #3
Just my humble opinion but I would tend to lean toward a bad motor in the fan.
Hob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:07 AM   #4
Obviously not the switch then, would it be a big job to swap the fans over, if its just 4 screws and a couple of connectors swap them over and see if the other switch heats up.