Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2018, 04:00 PM   #1

12volt battery of Rockwood

Is the 2018 Forest River Rockwood 2902 WS equipped with a way to keep and recharge the 12volt battery thats on the tongue hitch? One person told me it was equipped with a charger that recharges the battery when a have camper is plugged in 50amp service. Another person told me that it doesn't come with a charger and I would to buy a battery charger to recharger the battery. I'm new to Forest River so any suggestions will help....
mfpender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:18 PM   #2

Yes, it charges the battery when the rig is connected to power. FYI, some rigs have a battery disconnect. You'll have to make sure that isn't disconnected for it to charge. Easy way to know is to see if your interior lights work when not connected to AC power. If not, you need to check that disconnect switch. All of the Rockwood's I've seen use a push/pull type switch with a chrome knob- usually located by the interior fuse panel-which is also the converter that charges the battery, btw.
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:35 PM   #3

Thanks, I see a big red switch on the inside of the tongue hitch that has "Battery Disconnect" written on it. I guessing is the switch that you mentioned. It has a red turn knob on it.
Old 02-14-2018, 04:45 PM   #4
AKA: 'tiredTeacher

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfpender View Post
Thanks, I see a big red switch on the inside of the tongue hitch that has "Battery Disconnect" written on it. I guessing is the switch that you mentioned. It has a red turn knob on it.
Aha! A used trailer, right? The previous owner (PO) added that. Depending on how many modifications (mods) the PO did, you could be in for interesting discoveries as you go along.
2010 Tundra 4X4 5.7L V8
2014 Rockwood 2604WS