Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2015, 09:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
2009 forest river ac issues

Half of my outlets work and the other half do not.
The fuses are good. None of the gfci are tripped. I'm so confused.
Does anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Fr2009sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 588
Are you hooked up to shore power? If so make sure the breakers at the post are not tripped. Are you on 30 or 50 amp? You may need to turn off post breakers and reset them. Same inside breakers off then back on. Did you have power before ?
__________________

__________________
Jerry. Vietnam vet.
Retired
jgahlhoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
I'm hooked up to my house.
I don't know if they worked before.
I just purchased it last month.
I didn't think to check all outlets. The ones I checked were the gfci.
Everything else works, microwave, fridge, lights, inside and out.
__________________
Fr2009sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 588
Are you attempting to run the A/c with other things running ? If so you are overloading your house circuit unless it is 30 amp
__________________
Jerry. Vietnam vet.
Retired
jgahlhoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr2009sal View Post
I'm hooked up to my house.
I don't know if they worked before.
I just purchased it last month.
I didn't think to check all outlets. The ones I checked were the gfci.
Everything else works, microwave, fridge, lights, inside and out.
First you must sort in your mind the a/c side of the coach and the 12Volt D/C circuits. All a/c loads are protected by circuit breakers same as in your home. They will be grouped in a panel up to 12 circuits. You named half of them air cond, microwave, TV, fridge, gfci and outlets. Other loads are DC, lighting, steps, awnings, etc. All DC circuits are protected by fues located in the same panel as the a/c circuit breakers. One exception, large D/C loads >30 amps are fused directly from the battery "inline", secured to frame.
Your problem is most likely a defective circuit breaker serving the non gfci circuits or if a 50 amp service one of two 110 volt phases is not energized or is open.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:38 PM   #6
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,242
to clear up something, lower case "ac" means air conditioning and larger case "AC" means AC electric, on RV forums.
like "tv" means television and "TV" means tow vehicle.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:54 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Good to know!
AC power ac air conditioner.
Nothing was powered on when I attempted the outlets.
I was thinking maybe the dealer changed out an outlet and wired it up incorrectly?
I placed a call with the dealer and left a voicemail.
Hopefully I will know tomorrow!
__________________
Fr2009sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 01:18 PM   #8
Senior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: toms river nj
Posts: 41
actually had that problem at a camp site, with the gfi found out that that current being generated was in flux and being low at some points were the problem
__________________
efgsr47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 06:44 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Well I found out why my outlets weren't working.
Now I have a bigger issue.
What would cause all of the ground wires to melt at the ground?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PART_1427834358605_.IMG_20150331_143844.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	358.9 KB
ID:	72660  
__________________
Fr2009sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 06:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Direct short.

Odds are someone wired a ground wire to a hot wire and then there was smoke, lots of smoke from the looks of it.

__________________

__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
forest river

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.