Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2018, 08:52 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
There will not be a GFI outlet behind the microwave. There should be no outlet behind the microwave. Look in the cab on either side and or top of the micro. Per code, outlets must be accessible without taking the trailer apart. If you have a residential refrigerator you do have an inverter. You would want to boondock without the need to run the generator 24/7

The 50a power comes into our rig on 2 wires to the main breaker. One wire feeds things to the left of the breaker and 1 wire feeds to the right of the main breaker. Chances are you have two GFI circuits. Maybe one GFI breaker and one GFI receptacle. Thay are separate circuits. Go to your house breaker panel and turn off all breakers and turn them back on.
Right, there isn't an outlet behind the micro, I was saying that's where I suspect the wires would be that feed the GFI outlet that won't reset (because it is right next to the microwave outlet, both right under the microwave)

Also, the fridge runs on propane when not plugged in.. so I'm not sure having a fridge begets having an inverter. Happy to be wrong on this though..

I did try already to turn off all breakers and turn them all back on, no luck. How would I identify which wire is which in the breaker box (left/right)? Is it the red vs black ?
__________________

peteclark3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 01:44 PM   #12
4898 retired
 
lilsid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 42
ATS

Check your ATS (automatic transfer switch) open it up and see if one of the legs came off or like mine burned off.

What you described is exactly what happened to us. It turn out that one of the wires became loose and burned off leaving me with only half of the coach with power.
Lesson learned is to open the ATS and check that no wires have worked loose from traveling.
Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
2013 SportsCoach Cross Country
2017 Lincoln MKZ toad


lilsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:01 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsid View Post
Check your ATS (automatic transfer switch) open it up and see if one of the legs came off or like mine burned off.

What you described is exactly what happened to us. It turn out that one of the wires became loose and burned off leaving me with only half of the coach with power.
Lesson learned is to open the ATS and check that no wires have worked loose from traveling.
Hope this helps.
It sounds great! I just have never heard of an ATS and don't know where it is, but I'll find it... thank you!!
peteclark3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:23 PM   #14
Carknocker Family
 
Ida Ratherbe Camping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 628
My guess is that you have lost or a bad connection on one leg. Pull cover off of RV breaker box and check voltage on both legs. Each should be getting 120 or so volts. Where I would start.
Please be careful, stuff in there will bite cha.
Ida Ratherbe Camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:28 PM   #15
4898 retired
 
lilsid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 42
ATS Location

My ATS is located in the cargo box with 50 amp cord. The ATS switches power between the generator and your land line AC power.
__________________
2013 SportsCoach Cross Country
2017 Lincoln MKZ toad


lilsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:39 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 83
Just another thought for you to consider. I had that happen on my 2016 Georgetown 328. What the problem was that whomever put the Wire Nuts did not insure they were tight. The Junction Box is located under the Kitchen Sink behind the False Panel. The Junction Box in my Motorhome got Hot and we almost had a Fire. It doesn't take long to check it out once you get all the items out. On mine no Power to the Microwave and the other two outlets above the Sink.
__________________
David L Horton
2016 Georgetown 328
dphorton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:52 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 17,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteclark3 View Post
It sounds great! I just have never heard of an ATS and don't know where it is, but I'll find it... thank you!!
This may help:

https://www.rvtechmag.com/electrical/chapter4.php
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I become a zombie, the last thing I'd wanna do is walk around. Are there any Reclining Dead?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 03:53 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Hastings new York
Posts: 117
I had the same issue camping last year with my 5th wheel, I was on a 50 amp circuit and couldn't figure out what was going on. Just for the hell of it I pulled the plug and plugged it back into the 30 amp and everything started working. The 50 amp circuit at the post I was at was dead even though the switch was on. You might want to check the 50amp reset button on your generator or try a 30 amp circuit just to rule out a generator issue.
No more shoveling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 07:52 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 1,819
If you checked EVERY breaker and they all have power running through them your 50 amp power supply is good (both legs.) Your problem is down stream of the breakers.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 08:44 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsid View Post
My ATS is located in the cargo box with 50 amp cord. The ATS switches power between the generator and your land line AC power.
I’m not sure I have an ATS, at the link above I read that the alternative to an ATS is to plug the 50 amp cord into an outlet when running on generator power. This is what I have to do, when I disconnect from shore power I plug the cord into the 50 amp socket in the back cargo bay. Does this mean I don’t have an ATS?

Also, how do I check “both legs” in the junction box? All I know how to check are all the breakers. I guess I neee to start looking downstream though like another poster said, since all the switches in the breaker box have 120v
__________________

peteclark3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, check, fr3, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.