Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2014, 10:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ma.
Posts: 44
30 amp & airconditioner

I have a crusader 295 with 50 amp service . It has the larger 15000 btu air conditioner. I am in a campsite with only 30 amp service . Can I run the air conditioner without doing harm to it or to the service ?
__________________

__________________
jeffscuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jtstromsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,654
Yes. It should use around 14-15 amps running, and probably less. At startup, it can use much more but only for a short period. If in doubt, run the fridge and water heater on gas.

Sent by me
__________________

__________________
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:21 AM   #3
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,752
Yes, you can run it. Just be aware of what else is running. With our 15k AC, we can have 1 other high draw appliance running (baby bottle warmer, water heater, hair dryer, etc.). The microwave is usually OK but we can't run both of our microwaves at once.

We generally will switch our water heater to propane-only when on a 30amp site and then just try to be careful about what else is running.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:21 AM   #4
Old Enough to Know Better
 
gasman6674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Greenwood, In
Posts: 462
Also watch other electrical loads like blow dryers, curling irons and microwaves. You may need to turn your ac off to use them.
Regards
__________________
Jim & Debbie England
Do you have Gas? 2015 F350 6.2L CCLB DRW 4.30 axle. 2012 Yellowstone Ridgeline 34RLT Fifth Wheel
gasman6674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffscuda View Post
I have a crusader 295 with 50 amp service . It has the larger 15000 btu air conditioner. I am in a campsite with only 30 amp service . Can I run the air conditioner without doing harm to it or to the service ?
There are worlds of TT's with 30A that have 15K A/C's. The one I recently sold and the one my in laws currently own being 2 examples. I would bet that the majority of TT's in the south that are over 25' have a 15K with 30A. You typically don't make the jump to 50A unless you have a 2nd A/C, which most TT's don't.
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:05 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jtstromsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,654
I added a second 15k AC on our Sabre and have run both on 30a. I turned all other appliances to gas and turned of the converter breaker. Just to quick cool the unit for an hour or so. You'll be just fine on 30a.

Sent by me
__________________
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:12 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
I can run both my 15k and 13.5k A/Cs, along with 2 fridges, lights, stereo, and tv, without popping the 30A pedestal breaker. Have done it a number of times.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:14 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
Yep, you're fine. Only time you might have an issue is if you're running the microwave or similar high load device and the AC tries to start up. That start up load is pretty stout.

I monitored the voltage on mine connected to my 4500W genset through a 30A breaker and with the 15K unit running I turned the 13.5K unit on and even with the second unit starting up it only dropped to 104V for .25 of a second then returned to 114V.

So yeah, you'll be fine. If concerned you can get a plug in voltage monitor and watch it that way also.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:20 AM   #9
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtstromsburg View Post
I added a second 15k AC on our Sabre and have run both on 30a. I turned all other appliances to gas and turned of the converter breaker. Just to quick cool the unit for an hour or so. You'll be just fine on 30a.

Sent by me
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
I can run both my 15k and 13.5k A/Cs, along with 2 fridges, lights, stereo, and tv, without popping the 30A pedestal breaker. Have done it a number of times.
Interesting that you both have been successful with this-- we've only tried running both a time or two and each time it popped the 30amp breaker.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:56 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jtstromsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,654
Its all in the source code...

Sent by me
__________________

__________________
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.