Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
BigDaddySC1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 17
Why are you running a #8 wire? A #10 will handle 30 amps perfectly well.
__________________

__________________
BigDaddySC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:05 AM   #12
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,775
What herk and carl said is correct. If you have a licensed electrician do it he should know what to do according to code. I recomend a 50amp incase you ever upgrade and use a 50-30 adapter. Also a 50 amp is 220 and so a normal electrician should not screw it up as many 3 prong 30 amp services are with being 220 instead of the 110 that rvs require.

Also if it were me on a 100' run I would step up to #8 that way you know it can handle the drawl if needed.
Ps. 30 amp is 3600 watt on the hot leg and 50 amps are 6000 watt per leg x2. I try you use 50 amp service with a 50-30 adapter just for that reason when I can, will put less strain on the system if I am pulling a lot of juice( microwave, and a/c and tv and converter at same time).
__________________

__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:40 AM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Just remember to check your main service for current availability.

While most have upgraded or have 200 amp service; there are still a few places with 100 amp services out there. Make sure you do not trade a line trip problem for a main trip problem.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:48 AM   #14
Member
 
Wildwood1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
After buying our trailer and bringing it home i used a regular 100' cord plugged into the garage to keep the trailer "alive". I always wanted to run an underground wire with a proper dedicated 30 amp circuit so we could run the AC etc. It was always annoying to have to pull the cord back along the driveway when i cut the grass. So a couple weeks ago i finally got around to doing this long overdue project. I dug a trench from the house near the electrical panel to the trailer. I used 12/2 wire (approx. 100') slipped thru a 1/2' poly pipe (it was way cheaper than direct burial wire) but was a b#t%h to pull thru. I used a new and designated 30 amp breaker at the panel. At the trailer i used a pressure treated 4x4 post secured with concrete. I used a weatherproof RV outlet with a door/cover that protects the plug even when the trailer is plugged in. While i had the trench dug i also ran a water line and cable from the house to the post, all in separate 1/2' poly pipes. I can now use the house satelite dish for the trailer. I just stubbed the waterline about a foot above the ground at a water outlet at the house and use a stainless steel washing machine hose to connect the outlet to the poly/valve.
Its now nice to have a totally independant trailer! No more tripping over cords! I can run everything inside the trailer properly. It was a lot of work but soooo nice now!!!
__________________
Kevin and Joanne
06 wildwood 27le fbss
08 dodge ram 4x4 5.7 quad cab
07 kawasaki brute force 650i

Wildwood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:07 AM   #15
carl.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 77
Obviously you cannot go back but a 12/2 at 120v and 30 amps gives you about 138 feet before you are starting to overload the wire. You also should expect about a 10% drop in voltage over your run so if your voltage to the house is slightly low so you may have issues with some of your appliances if you decide to occupy your unit.

For those planning to do this.
1. Run a slightly larger gauge than required by code so you get less voltage drop and are better able to handle any large loads.
2. Use a cable/wire lube (camel snot) on your wire so it pulls through the conduit easily.
3. bury the cable to the depth required by code because if someone digs into it and gets electrocuted it is your fault if the wire is not buried correctly.
4. I know code allows for outdoor cable to be buried while not in conduit but do yourself and others the favor of using conduit (like Wildwood did) so that the wires are better protected.
__________________
- 06 Salem LE 28BHS (axles flipped), Boliy Pro3600ES Generator
Dodge Dakota 4.7l HO (260hp/310torq), 131 in wheel base
3.92 gears with towing pkg, Reese dual cam sway control
Tekonsha P3 break controller
- 36 ft Monterey cabin cruiser, Stainless blender
Two 4.7 GXi I/O (2 x 320hp = 640hp)
carl.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:09 AM   #16
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildwood1 View Post
I always wanted to run an underground wire with a proper dedicated 30 amp circuit so we could run the AC etc. I used 12/2 wire (approx. 100') slipped thru a 1/2' poly pipe (it was way cheaper than direct burial wire) but was a b#t%h to pull thru. I used a new and designated 30 amp breaker at the panel.
I can run everything inside the trailer properly.
Just making sure that it wasn't a typo. You are running 30 amps on 12/2 wire?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:12 AM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Kevin,

I hope you made an error in your post about driving that 100 foot run of 12/2 with a 30 amp breaker. This is very dangerous, IMO, since there is a very good chance of fire and it will most likely occur inside your breaker panel where the current and resistance is highest (at the breaker black wire connection itself).

If you did not make a mistake and actually have a 30 amp breaker there, you should immediately replace it with a 20 amp breaker for safety. For 30 amps, that absolute minimum gauge should have been 10/2 and for a 100 foot run 8/2 to minimize voltage loss in the run.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #18
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,039
Kevin, if it was not a typo, you need to listen to Lou in his previous post. Most will even say you need #6 wire for 100 foot to minimize voltage drop.

Here is a link to a few wire size calculators, where you input the amperage and wire length.

Wire Size Calculator

http://www.paigewire.com/pumpWireCalc.htm

Here is another link that has all kind of informative info on wiring and outlet installation for travel trailers. We link to this website all the time. Make sure to click on the "30 Amp Service" link on the left-hand side of the page and scroll down to the middle to see wire size recommendations.

RV Electric
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:38 AM   #19
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769
Kevin,

I hope you made an error in your post about driving that 100 foot run of 12/2 with a 30 amp breaker. This is very dangerous, IMO, since there is a very good chance of fire and it will most likely occur inside your breaker panel where the current and resistance is highest (at the breaker black wire connection itself).

If you did not make a mistake and actually have a 30 amp breaker there, you should immediately replace it with a 20 amp breaker for safety. For 30 amps, that absolute minimum gauge should have been 10/2 and for a 100 foot run 8/2 to minimize voltage loss in the run.
X2 or 3
__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:17 PM   #20
Member
 
Wildwood1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
I ran the trailer on a 14/2 100' extension cord for 3 years and funny thing the house is still standing! I dont plan on using the trailer outlets to weld.
__________________

__________________
Kevin and Joanne
06 wildwood 27le fbss
08 dodge ram 4x4 5.7 quad cab
07 kawasaki brute force 650i

Wildwood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.