Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 10:27 PM   #31
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by F and E Damp View Post
I'm planning to put a 30A outlet on the outside wall of the garage this fall. We have a C/B on one leg of out panel that supplies a dedicated outlet in the "Computer room", as designated by the builder. We use it as the guest bedroom.

I plan to replace that c/b with the same make and model 30A breaker, disconnect and cap the wiring to the "computer room", then run new wiring to a TT-30R receptacle outside. It will be in a weather-proof box with a weather-resistant "in-use" cover. I'll be getting a neighbor who's a professional electrician to look over my installation before I activate it.
I am assuming the reason you are disconnecting (and replacing) the circuit breaker to the computer room, is because the breaker box is completely full...and you don't have room to add another circuit breaker. (or you are using up all your service amps)

If you still had room/available service to add another breaker, you could just add the 30 amp and run the correct size wire from it to your TT-30R.....without disconnecting your computer room.

Have you looked over the pdf file on making sure you wire the TT-30R correct?

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...let-27223.html
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:31 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
AWG states that a 30 amp service needs a min. of 10 guage wire. You have wired a 30 amp service with undersized wire. If by chance you do have a fire that is caused by the wiring your house insurance might not cover the loss. Also if the wiring is ever inspected by the hydro inspector it will not pass. Just because you have been lucky for the last 3 years does not mean your luck will hold. All I can say is good luck to Wildwood 1.
__________________

__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:11 PM   #33
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
You're correct, wmtire. The breaker box is full. That socket in the guest bedroom is in an awkward place and we don't use it anyway. I'll be using 10-gauge wire, even though the run from the breaker is only about 8 feet.

Yes, I've got that leaflet on how to do the hook-up, but I'll still have it inspected by my licensed electrician, RV-owner neighbor. I may even have him do the hook-up inside the breaker box.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:49 PM   #34
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by F and E Damp View Post
I'll be using 10-gauge wire, even though the run from the breaker is only about 8 feet.

Yes, I've got that leaflet on how to do the hook-up, but I'll still have it inspected by my licensed electrician, RV-owner neighbor. I may even have him do the hook-up inside the breaker box.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.