Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2015, 09:42 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 20
OldCoot, thank you, that was my next step...wanted to confirm my decision through my FROG family first.
__________________

__________________
jth8696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 10:37 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
Nostalgia. I bought my first house in the 80's and it was built in '52. It had 60 amps in tube fuses (and someone added 40 amps in breakers). No central AC, so in the summer, I'd have 2 window AC's which I'd have to run intermittently so not to blow the fuses. 2nd house came with 200 amp panel. Upgraded to 300 so I could finally have enough juice to run central ac, camper, and enough toys to make a man cave happy. So, going back to trying to squeeze life in 30 amps...
__________________

__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 01:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mt Pleasant SC
Posts: 202
Given that you are an electrician, why don't you hang your ammeter on the ac feeder to the power panel and measure.
__________________
palmetto rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 02:10 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 20
30 amp breaker trips when air conditioner and refrigerator cycle at same time

It first happened while on Gen Power...

I assumed it was to much load so switched the firdge switch to gas...

Also noting that the issue most likely is a combination of amp draw from fridge, ac, and water heater (possibility of weak components also).

I would have to sit with a clamp on amp meter until it tripped the circuit. With all that said, I could also sit and monitor the shore power cable as each device cycled. Call me lazy, or call me economical...I came here looking for easy quick answers and advice from friends such as yourself.
__________________
jth8696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 02:26 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mt Pleasant SC
Posts: 202
try a hard start capacitor on your ac
__________________
palmetto rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 07:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Computer Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 148
I had a 99 Sunnybrook for 14 years and was always able to run the air, hot water heater and gas/electric fridge on electric mode on 30 Amps without any problems.


Computer Nerd
2014 Chevy Silverado 3500 HD Duramax
2016 Sandpiper 35ROK
__________________

__________________
Computer Nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, breaker, fridge, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.