Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2015, 09:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 31
Cool 30 amp service with 50 amp RV

I have found a place in FL to winter but all they have is 30 Amp service and I have (currently) a 2014 Flagstaff TT with 50 Amp requirement (?). Will I experience any problems using only a 30 Amp site if all I'm using is one A/C at a time? We're also seriously considering a new 5th wheel which I'm sure will have 50 amp requirements as well. Any advice would be helpful.
__________________

__________________
snormaniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:30 AM   #2
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
If you only use 1 AC at at time you should be fine. You will still have to be somewhat careful about your total power usage though. Everyone is different is there power usage so hard to say for sure but just be careful with microwave use at the same time as curling irons and such. If you are finding that you do pop the breaker switch the water heater to LP and run that way. Have a great winter.
__________________

__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 844
Everything will work just fine, the difference is when you run 2 AC's, the microwave and elec. hot water that puts you well over the 30 Amp threshold. Meaning if you don't need to run 2 AC's simultaneously and are willing to manage your power consumption manually you should be ok. On 30 Amp service you have 1 wire carrying 30 Amp in, on a 50 Amp service you have 2 wires carrying 50 Amps each - a total of 100 Amp, Voltage stays the same.
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:48 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
I ran my 50amp 5er an entire season on a 30amp service. I was able to run both a/c's, as long as the voltage stayed up. I only ran both when I initially got to my site to cool things off quickly, and possibly before bed time. I ran water heater off gas, didn't use microwaves, or hair dryer. Everything else worked fine, otherwise. When possible, I have a cheater adapter that allows me to plug into a 30amp and 15amp outlet to supply approx. 45 amps. (won't work with gfi outlet), but only had 30amp outlet at seasonal site. You can make 30amp work, just may need to work around things.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:51 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
It's all about power management. If you can resign yourself to only running one A/C and being aware of the power requirements of irons, hair dryers, toaster (ovens), electric heaters, etc. then you can easily manage to run your RV on 30 amps of power.

One thing you need to know is what all is on the second leg of the 50 amp plug. A lot of times it's just the second A/C, but there could be other things. You'll need a 30A male to 50A female adapter that bridges the second leg if there's more on it than just the second A/C.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 426
Snorman......You won't HURT anything,,,,,the fuses won't let you,,,,,and you'll be reminded over and over until you learn what trips the breaker. In the winter,,,,,we use electric space heaters,,,,the water heater,,,,,and when we turn the toaster on or the microwave.....we say "Oh, ya",,,and I go outside to reset the breaker. It's a learning process, but you won't HURT anything.
__________________
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Marion, LA
Posts: 220
You can do it as others have noted. What I would point out is that the difference is not 30 verses 50. The 30 has one 30 amp leg of 115v. The 50 service has TWO legs of 50 amps each. Hence, the comparison is 30 amps verse 100 amps total, meaning that the 30 amp service is less than 1/3rd of the 50 service.
__________________
RubberNail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:38 PM   #8
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 5,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypressloser View Post
Everything will work just fine, the difference is when you run 2 AC's, the microwave and elec. hot water that puts you well over the 30 Amp threshold. Meaning if you don't need to run 2 AC's simultaneously and are willing to manage your power consumption manually you should be ok. On 30 Amp service you have 1 wire carrying 30 Amp in, on a 50 Amp service you have 2 wires carrying 50 Amps each - a total of 100 Amp, Voltage stays the same.
Yes... AND... No!
There are two wires carrying 50 amps each and in theory you'd think that equals 100 amps.
BUT... both 50 amp legs SHARE a common 50 amp breaker. Anytime you exceed 50 amps on either leg, it will trip the breaker.
It would have to have a 100 amp breaker to have 100 amps of current available. No RV pedestal I know of has 100 amp breakers.

Of course all this depends on being wired correctly in the first place and meets code.

To the OP... you can safely run your 50 amp unit on 30 amps (with a plug adapter) as long as you don't try to run everything electrical at once.
As was mentioned, every circuit is protected with a breaker and the whole thing is protected by the main breaker in the pedestal. You won't hurt anything.

You can selectively shut off breakers inside your unit (to 2nd A/C, Electric Water Tank, Microwave) so you don't inadvertently draw too much.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by clr View Post
If you only use 1 AC at at time you should be fine. You will still have to be somewhat careful about your total power usage though. Everyone is different is there power usage so hard to say for sure but just be careful with microwave use at the same time as curling irons and such. If you are finding that you do pop the breaker switch the water heater to LP and run that way. Have a great winter.
If the load is too great turning off the breaker to your converter charger will help but remember then batteries are not charging. Also if frig will go gas and off 110v ac that's going to save another 4 amps or so while you run a/c

You just have to think like the 30 amp people do, but be even more cautious because your main breakers will not trip until 50 amp and the power source as well as the pigtail are only designed for 30 amp. Your load all rests on the power point breaker and we all hear stories about those.
__________________
Tom48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 02:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Marion, LA
Posts: 220
Sorry 5picker. Just visited my breaker box to be certain. Double 50 amp breakers, just like for the residential A/C. 50 amp service IS 2 legs 115 at 50 amp each. In truth it is a 230v 50 amp breaker. Look inside at the breaker blades and you will see each 50 amp service draws from a separate panel bar. Don't recall ever seeing different. Also, if what you said was true, then when you plugged in a 50 to 30 converter plug you would only have 25 amps available. Maybe there is a legitimate electrician that can put this to rest, but I am absolutely sure that mine is a 50 amp 240 breaker, meaning 2 legs 115v at 50 amps. I don't have a campground pedestal at my door to inspect.
__________________

__________________
RubberNail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, service

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.