Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 09:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,037
30 Amp Trip

How much 110+ power can you use in your unit before a Breaker trips? This would be at the Same time. Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:58 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
I have a digital readout of the amps load from my hard-wired surge protector and have seen 32-33A displayed. I then shut something off as I know a trip will follow if left a while.

Dave
__________________

__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:35 AM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
HowStuffWorks "Basic Circuit Breaker Design"

There are two types of breakers. MOST inexpensive ones use a bi-metallic strip that needs to get hot enough to bend away from the contact to trip the switch to the "tripped" position.

Since the "quickness" of the trip depends on how much heat is being produced, a small overload can take several minutes to heat the strip enough to release the switch. The higher the overload current the quicker it will trip.

Some breakers use an electromagnet to pull the trip lever. Once the overload current reaches a point where the magnet is strong enough, the circuit will open.

Even with the electromagnet style, there are tolerances (say 30 amps + 1 amp). The circuit may open early or late depending on where the actual current flow needed to trip it falls.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:04 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
How much 110+ power can you use in your unit before a Breaker trips? This would be at the Same time. Youroo!!
Why u ask ?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Maybe you're asking "power", normally measured in watts? That would be about 120x30= 3600 watts.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:11 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Depending on what is going on in the camper at the time, I have seen my AC amperage meter spike above 30 amps (31 or 32) several times over the last few months without tripping the post or camper main breaker. Since the spike never lasts more than a few seconds (typically a hair curler in use when the AC kicked on) the breakers hold.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Why u ask ?
Just seems to be several members say they can use (ALL)-MW-A/C-W/H-Coffee Maker-Hair Dryer- and not trip a Breaker! I don't buy it. Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
Just seems to be several members say they can use (ALL)-MW-A/C-W/H-Coffee Maker-Hair Dryer- and not trip a Breaker! I don't buy it. Youroo!!
I think some of it could be A lot of those items cycle. A/c Compressor not always running and when it is its relatively low amperage (10-15) its the kick in that's hard, and most of the time breakers will handle a fairly large start load. Some coffee pots hot plate cycle with temp, microwaves cycle.

I have run A/C, coffee pot and hair dryer at same time.
__________________
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
HowStuffWorks "Basic Circuit Breaker Design"

There are two types of breakers. MOST inexpensive ones use a bi-metallic strip that needs to get hot enough to bend away from the contact to trip the switch to the "tripped" position.

Since the "quickness" of the trip depends on how much heat is being produced, a small overload can take several minutes to heat the strip enough to release the switch. The higher the overload current the quicker it will trip.

Some breakers use an electromagnet to pull the trip lever. Once the overload current reaches a point where the magnet is strong enough, the circuit will open.

Even with the electromagnet style, there are tolerances (say 30 amps + 1 amp). The circuit may open early or late depending on where the actual current flow needed to trip it falls.
Herk, I just sit and wounder how you have all this information. What you posted is exactly true. A breaker will hold up to 10% over the rating for a short period of time such as a surge, but will trip if if it is longer then seconds. That is why you size a breaker for start up amps like your A/C when it comes on. With saying that it will only hold for seconds until the motor gets out of the start wind and into the run amps. You just constantly amaze me with your post.......
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
How much 110+ power can you use in your unit before a Breaker trips? This would be at the Same time. Youroo!!
Youroo, It will depend what you have on and using at the time there is number of post on what the amp draw is on different 110V Appliances. Then you have to think about the amp draw that you plug into the electrical sockets and is running at the time. Would I have my microwave running with my A/C and my wife drying her hair? The answer is no it would trip a 30 amp breaker every time. I would hope the trailer tripped before the pedestal.........
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.