Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2015, 10:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 101
30 or 50 amp

I ordered a new wolf pack 315 and didn't see where it was a 30 or 50 amp. I called and its 30amp. My question is do you think 30 amp is ok. We will run ac, 2 TVs, dish sat, and maybe microwave at most at same time if it can. Occasional hair dryer, fan at night, coffee maker in morning. This is second trailer for us and I haven't had trouble b4 but didn't have dish sat. Thanks and please educate me!
__________________

Arkguy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,165
Hello, 30 amps will run all items. You might have to avoid the hotwater heater when running in hot weather if you want the Microwave, other than that it will work just fine, TV and Sat do not draw that much. I run my trailer with 30 amps and 15 K BTU AC unit as well.
__________________

__________________
2017 Heartland Bighorn 3575 Elite with Reese Sidewinder
2016 Ford F 350 SD PS 6.7 SRW Crew Pucks and Reese 18 K Elite

2013 Rockwood 8289WS 2012 Rockwood 2703 SS TT 2007 Golden Falcon 38FLA PM 1983 Corsair 21RB
2015 Ford F250 PS '13 F150 3.5 Eco '09 F150 5.4 l 1987 Merc Grand Marq 1982 Ford E250 CW
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:57 AM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 16,573
Mark Polk has a fairly good article and approximation chart on how many amps a lot of common appliances use here. It may help and you can kinda add up what it all takes:

RV Converters and Amp Draw - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

1500 watt Hair dryers and space heaters are also pretty big energy users (12.5 amps per and better). You may need to watch what else is on (and needs to be turned off) at the same time when using either/or
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Iíve lost my scapegoat.
I have nobody to blame but myself.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 11:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 101
I've always used gas on hot water heater bc of recovery rate and fear of breaker tripping.
Arkguy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:24 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,544
I'd be wary of running two ACs on 30 amps.
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:27 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 16,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwritecode View Post
I'd be wary of running two ACs on 30 amps.
I may have missed something here? I saw where the OP discussed two televisions, but not two A/C's.

I would think any RV's with 2 air conditioners would be a 50 amp variety from the factory?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Iíve lost my scapegoat.
I have nobody to blame but myself.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:32 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
I may have missed something here? I saw where the OP discussed two televisions, but not two A/C's.

I would think any RV's with 2 air conditioners would be a 50 amp variety from the factory?
True,
30 amp one a/c
50 amp two a/c's
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:34 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
True,
30 amp one a/c
50 amp two a/c's
I have 30 amp and run:
2 tv's
A/c
Satellite and receiver
2 fridge ' s
And water heater.
I have 2 microwaves but can only run one @ a time.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
Are you sure its only 30a? We got our 315 in nov and its 50a.Does your power cord pull out or plug into the side of the trailer? # prong plg or 4?
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 101
I ordered it. Been 5 days since down payment. I didn't see where it had a 30 amp or 50 amp on order sheet. I selected a 15 ac unit. I called and asked and they said it was 30. Should I change it to 50 if possible? How do you like your unit? I am buying a few things each week for it and wondered which surge protector to get. I may wait until it arrives.
__________________

Arkguy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.