Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2016, 06:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
30A single or 20A double?

I've decided to install an RV receptacle on the house. I had, at one time, conduit run and several water tight outlets at the corners of the house. I was originally going to replace one with a 30A RV receptacle and put a 30A breaker with appropriate sized wire in it's place.

Here's the question...I've got an unused 20A double in the main. I was thinking about just using that breaker and running it to a 50A RV receptacle instead. That would give me two 20A lines (which is much better than the single 15A I'm currently having to use) instead of one 30A line. I'd still be using the heavier wire. Any potential drawbacks to this I might not be thinking about? I don't normally run anything at the house but a single AC and a light or two. Just thinking about it at this point as all I'd have to get is the receptacle and wire.
__________________

__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,729
What kind of plug does your camper have? When I google an image of the camper it has 1 AC unit so I assume it has a 30 amp connector. If it does in fact have a 30 amp, then running 2, 20 amp circuits connected to a four prong 50 amp jack won't get you 40 amps to a three wire, 30 amp camper. Only 20.

I would personally install the proper wiring to match the plug. I can't imagine that to do otherwise would meet code.
__________________

__________________
Tom

2012 Rockwood A122S
2008 Toyota Tundra Double Cab 4X4

Former owner of a 2002 Coleman Niagara GTE
Pooneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:09 PM   #3
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
When running my 30amp plug, I ran it so I can upgrade to 30 amp 120/240 for if and when I get a 50 amp unit. 2 20 amp legs work, too. Just look at your rv panel and see what will get 20 amps. Each side of the main should get 20 amps.

Sent from my Samsung Note 4 using Tapatalk.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 1,232
You should stick to the proper wiring for the chosen outlet. Run a standard 30 amp or if you want more amps run a 50 and use an adapter. It is best to not make people guess what is actually behind the outlet. Stick to industry standards.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3,418
even if you put a 50 amp plug for your RV to plug into you will still only be getting 20 amps. Why not size the wire such put a 50 amp double breaker and then use a 30 to 50 adapter to your RV. Problem solved service ready should upgrade to a RV that requires 50 amp service
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaDog View Post
even if you put a 50 amp plug for your RV to plug into you will still only be getting 20 amps. Why not size the wire such put a 50 amp double breaker and then use a 30 to 50 adapter to your RV. Problem solved service ready should upgrade to a RV that requires 50 amp service
It does have 50A service.

This was more of a question of what would be better. I don't really want to go to the expense of running 50A as I won't ever use it. 30A is really the most I'd need for what I'm doing with it. My options are, use a single 30A and an adapter to the trailer (one 30A line @ 120V) or use the existing double pole 20A and wire it to a 50A RV without the need for an adapter (two 20A lines @ 120V).

Both will require wiring for at least 30A and a receptacle, but I already have the double 20A breaker.

The double 20A with two hot legs would give me more total available power, but not a huge amount. It will probably be more than I need, but I can always upgrade it later if it's not.
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
It is best to not make people guess what is actually behind the outlet. Stick to industry standards.
That's probably the best thing. As long as the wiring exceeded the breaker there wouldn't be a problem, however, if I sold the place and forgot about it and someone just assumed that the wiring was suitable for 50A because of the box and dropped a 50A breaker in there, there could be problems. I'll just go with a 30A receptacle and single breaker so there's no confusion later.

This is the reason I asked. Good to get second (and 20th) opinions. I knew it would work, just making sure I wasn't overlooking something that might cause problems later.
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:21 PM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,050
I think I understand your premise, but what exactly right now does that 20 amp double pole circuit breaker control? What is it going to?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
I think I understand your premise, but what exactly right now does that 20 amp double pole circuit breaker control? What is it going to?
Absolutely nothing right now. It was going to an ancient 240V window unit on an addition to the house. The wires are capped and labeled in the panel, but the breaker is still there not being used. If I don't use it, I'll have to take it out to make room anyway. Just exploring options.
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:48 PM   #10
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by raspivey View Post
Absolutely nothing right now. It was going to an ancient 240V window unit on an addition to the house. The wires are capped and labeled in the panel, but the breaker is still there not being used.
Ok, the reason I was asking was to see if there was existing wiring in place, and if you planned to use such. I was also curious to see if you have 3 or 4 wires running to the whatever the circuit breaker was controlling. You would have to have 4 wires to wire it as a split phase RV service using the 20 amp double pole breaker (or any double pole breaker)

I would check the cost of running the proper 4 wires size (also if you are using existing conduit, is it big enough for this) for a true 50 amp 120/240 split phase service as opposed to the proper 3 wires size for a 30 amp 120 volt outlet.

You may find out it's not too terribly much more, and then decide to just pop out that 20 amp double pole breaker and replace it with a 50 amp double pole breaker. You would then run the appropriate size wire for this, and install a 50 amp outlet. This way you could run what you need in your RV.

The only drawback (besides the initial cost of the wire, outlet and 50 amp breaker) is what size service your main panel has at your house. I wouldn't attempt this if you have anything less than a 100 amp main service, whereas 150 or 200 amp would be better.

You would have to see what all amps everything else in your house uses, and make sure not to overload the main, if using your RV at the same time.

It's ultimately your call, and you can decide what works good and fits your budget best.

This is a great link below to a site to peruse. They also have recommended wire sizes for the different applications as well as the wiring schematics/outlets for each. You can check out the 50 and 30 amp links, to help you figure it out....then price the stuff online at lowes, home depot, etc. to give you an idea.

RV Electric

and make sure to click on their pdf's like this

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

and this

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/30-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.