Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2013, 07:04 PM   #1

50A electric use per day?

Hi guys!

Need your thoughts/experience.

We just finished our first long stay at a CG where we paid for electricity separately. We usually do shorter stays so we have no experience with how much electricity these big 50A rigs use.

For December, the CG charged us $101 for electricity. That seemed reasonable to me figuring about $3/day. Then when we checked out this AM, they read the meter again and said I had burned $214 worth of electricity for 16 days use in Jan! They double-checked their figures and then decided to compromise at $75 since they didn't think we could burn over $13/day. I paid the $75 then went back to do some calculations.

I'm not an expert but I figure some of you are! But using the simple Watts = Volts * Amps formula, I calculate the following. At 25 Amps average use on 120 volt lines, I burn 3 kw. Over 24 hours, that's 72kwh. Figuring a high-side 12.5 cents/kwh, that's $9/day for electricity. On the low side at 10.0 cents/kwh, that's still $7.20/day for electricity.

I don't think I could average more than 25 Amps over a 24 hour period but it's theoretically possible to burn twice these amounts if you could pull 50 amps constant all the time.

So are we really burning $7-$9/day in electricity? We use 3 1,000 watt electric heaters instead of propane and it's been pretty cold this month.

I appreciate your thoughts!

Danno
danno2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:23 PM   #2

Can you get to the electric meter and read it yourself? Just read it at the same time on successive days and you will know for sure how much electricity you are using. You'll have to ask your campground manager what they charge for electricity. They may mark it up from what they pay.