Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2014, 10:59 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

6V versus 12V Batteries

When we did our PDI with our Rockwood, the technician said he really likes to go dry camping and had swapped out his 12-volt RV batteries for two 6-volt batteries because they last longer. (He said you just have to wire them different.) He suggested that we do the same if we intend to do a lot of dry camping.

I'm an engineer, not an electrician so my questions are...

1) Since it appears two 6-volts are better than two 12-volts, why doesn't the RV already have that? (I checked prices and they 6-volts do run about $70 more.) Is the cost the reason?

2) Have any of you swapped out for 6 volters? If so, how much of an improvement did you get?
8-year Travel Trailer RVers
2013 Forest River Rockwood Ultra-Lite 2904SS
2014 Toyota Tundra Maxcrew SR-5 TRD 4x4 (with Firestone airbags in the rear)
ColoradoRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 11:06 PM   #2

a smaller percentage of people dry camp, so I'm sure cost is the main reason. Not that you can't dry camp with 1 12 volt, but a pair of 6s will provide power for a longer period of time.
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 11:40 PM   #3

Yes cost is the reason.