Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
A/C Electrical question

I am a new owner of a 2010 Rockwood 8265WS fifth wheel. The unit is well maintained, we are getting ready to take our first trip over Labor Day weekend in Williams AZ.
My question is related to the A/C portion of the rig.
I have reset all the breakers, the main 30 amp, the sub 20 and 15 amp breakers also.
I still don't have voltage at the recepticles. The Microwave also does not have voltage. I removed the Microwave and plugged into an extension cord, and it worked.
The CD/AM/FM unit has power and works, the television appears to have power (I still haven't had time to get a picture on the TV yet.)
It almost feels like there is some upstream fuse or something between the shore power cord and the A/C panel that is preventing me from getting voltage...
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance...

Bob
__________________

__________________
rcpetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpetty View Post
I am a new owner of a 2010 Rockwood 8265WS fifth wheel. The unit is well maintained, we are getting ready to take our first trip over Labor Day weekend in Williams AZ.
My question is related to the A/C portion of the rig.
I have reset all the breakers, the main 30 amp, the sub 20 and 15 amp breakers also.
I still don't have voltage at the recepticles. The Microwave also does not have voltage. I removed the Microwave and plugged into an extension cord, and it worked.
The CD/AM/FM unit has power and works, the television appears to have power (I still haven't had time to get a picture on the TV yet.)
It almost feels like there is some upstream fuse or something between the shore power cord and the A/C panel that is preventing me from getting voltage...
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance...

Bob
Bob,

Check to see if there is a GFCI outlet tripped somewhere. Mine is in the Bathroom and it controls the whole kitchen.
__________________

__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79 Nights Camped 2018 4 nights reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Broadway Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 636
First - Sometimes circuit breakers trip but do not click over and appear to still be latched, it is necessary to move them completely to the open position then closed.
Second - look for one or more Ground Fault Outlets that are usually positioned in or near
the kitchen and bath area.
__________________
Broadway Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:22 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
GFCI reset

Thanks SYE and Joenic53...
I did find a GFCI recepticle in the bathroom, it had a red light, I tripped the test button and reset, the red light came back on... I kick myself now for not testing for voltage at THAT recepticle after that... for some reason I ASSUMED it was energized...may be a mistake on my part. I store the fifth wheel at a storage yard about three miles from my home in Phoenix, so I can't test as the storage yard doesn't have electricity available. I also agree on the "resetting" of circuit breakers, need to take them full travel to the "off" position then fully on...
I wonder if perhaps the red light on the bathroom recepticle is telling me it is energized, or it has a problem? the GFCI tripped and reset ok, or at least appeared to work properly...
Thanks for the quick reply!
Bob
__________________
rcpetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
If the GFCI tripped when you "tested"'it, that says you have power to the RV. My guess is that the GFCI is bad.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Broadway Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 636
GFCI's can't reset unless there is power available to the breaker, you might want to invest in a circuit tester similar to this Shop IDEAL Analog Voltage Detector at Lowes.com.

HTH
__________________
Broadway Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:06 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Can I assume that replacing a GFCI on a fifth wheel is the same as replacing a GFCI in my home?
In other words, do I have to buy a special receptacle for RV only or Home Depot version ok?
Thanks for all your help.
I also think I will look at the possibility of the receptacle where the Micro wave plugs in may be faulty... it didn't have any burn marks or smell like it had burnt, but may get one just to be sure.
Bob
__________________
rcpetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Broadway Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 636
It is the same as used in your home, Lowes or Home Depot stocks them. Good Luck.
__________________
Broadway Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Do you own a multi-meter? This may be a good time to buy one if you need to. No point in replacing that GFCI if its good.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:43 PM   #10
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpetty View Post
Thanks SYE and Joenic53...
I did find a GFCI recepticle in the bathroom, it had a red light, I tripped the test button and reset, the red light came back on... I kick myself now for not testing for voltage at THAT recepticle after that... for some reason I ASSUMED it was energized...may be a mistake on my part. I store the fifth wheel at a storage yard about three miles from my home in Phoenix, so I can't test as the storage yard doesn't have electricity available. I also agree on the "resetting" of circuit breakers, need to take them full travel to the "off" position then fully on...
I wonder if perhaps the red light on the bathroom recepticle is telling me it is energized, or it has a problem? the GFCI tripped and reset ok, or at least appeared to work properly...
Thanks for the quick reply!
Bob
Glad you found it and it SAS something simple and free!!!
__________________

__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79 Nights Camped 2018 4 nights reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.