Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 08:02 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 116
AC with a generator

I have a 20 amp generator. Will this run the ac ? Will it damage anything to try?
__________________

__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
A 13.5k AC unit is on the far jagged edge of what a 2,000 can handle. I've seen it do it but barely and we didn't check the voltage so I don't know where that stood.
__________________

__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Don't do it with a 2000 watt when the ac has run once and is hot it won't kick back on, a 3500 watt minimum to run ac. The 2000 watt will trip the reset on the Generator when it tries to come back on.
__________________
Think about things before you do them make life easier not harder.
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:39 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
As stated a 2000 watt is pushing it.
I wouldn't recommend it.

A 13.5k a/c draws about 16-20 amps during start up then runs about 12-14 amps while running.
Your converter is always running and it sees about 3-5 amps continuously.
A 3500 watt continous watt gennie would in my opinion be your minimum.

Generators can sometimes be misleading.
I seen one listed at "2000" watts but in small print it said "surge" watts.
Running watts was around 1650.

You need to look at running watts.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:41 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeGee View Post
I have a 20 amp generator. Will this run the ac ? Will it damage anything to try?
Low voltage would be a BIG concern!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 689
What is the KW rating of your 20a generator?
It takes a good 3500KW to run most of the A/C units.
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 875
Just to be clear - is it a 2000 watt generator or (20Amp x 120volt) = 2400 watts.
__________________
2011 PrimeTime Tracer 2600rls
2001 GMC Yukon XL 2500, 6.0L 4.10:1 axle ratio
Nights camping 2014 - 17
2013 - 15
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 09:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jonrjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 766
Don't do it, not enough output to keep things in check. This is why most people who have a 2K generator have two 2K generators and a parallel cord to tie them together making the total output at 4K.

As for why many of these folks to two 2K generators is that if a/c is not needed one generator may meet their needs for dry camping. Or that two 2K generators is much lighter to move around than the weight of a 4K generator
__________________
2013 Ford F350 FX4 4x4 PSD
2013 Wildcat 353LS

2015 Day/Nights Camped 5
2014 Day/Nights Camped 29
jonrjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 09:26 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Actually. ......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403270802307.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	55822  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 12:51 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
We have the Yamaha 2300 HSIC and it easily runs our A/C. I did install a hard start kit to help with the initial start up.
__________________

__________________
climbbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.