Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2011, 07:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
SlowerThanU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 23
Question Adapter for 2 15-20amp to 1 30amp?

Hello Everyone,

I plan to use my new Grey Wolf 19RR at race tracks in the pits when I'm doing track days or racing. The pit areas usually have plenty of 15-20amp outlets for things like lighting, fans and tire warmers but very rarely do they have a 30amp plug for an RV. Has anyone heard of or made a pig tail that plugs into two separate 15-20amp circuits to create a 30amp rated outlet? This would be similar to the concept of pairing two 2000 watt generators. I've searched but can't find anything like this although in theory it should work. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2012 Cherokee Grey Wolf 19RR w/ Power Package
2012 Toyota Tundra 5.7L Double Cab 4x4, TRD Rock Warrior
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R, street/track
SlowerThanU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:13 PM   #2
Lottery Non-Winner
 
Ovair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 437
Well, there's this Fretz Enterprises Online Store
which isn't exactly what you want, but it seems similar. It at least uses the same sort of idea (combining two sources into one.
__________________

__________________

2011 Georgetown 337
2009 HD FLHTCU
2007 HD FXSTC
Ovair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
It cannot be done.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 11:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
SlowerThanU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 23
Ovair's post proves it can be done, there just isn't a readily available product for my application. This would be no different than the cheater cables already available to combine a 20 and 30 amp circuit like the one above or linking two generators together to increase available amperage.
__________________
2012 Cherokee Grey Wolf 19RR w/ Power Package
2012 Toyota Tundra 5.7L Double Cab 4x4, TRD Rock Warrior
2011 Kawasaki ZX-10R, street/track
SlowerThanU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 01:24 AM   #5
2007 WildCat 32QBBS
 
05CrewDually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,773
This cheater box does the same as Ovair's post. Cheater Box

But this is taking electricity from 2 different lines. What your looking for won't accomplish anything because the 2 outlets are the same line which is only rated at 15amp. So, in that case it can be done but your NOT gaining anything except a good chance of blowing the tracks breakers.
__________________
05CrewDually is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:03 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I suppose if you were to find a 220 VAC 30/50 amp outlet in the shop area used for welding or a large air compressor, you could make a pigtail the converts that outlet type to a 30 amp RV socket.

(I must add in all fairness that this is way beyond my abilities and could be dangerous as H$%^)

As to hooking up two 15 amp duplex sockets via some magic and getting 30 amps?
Sorry, No.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
leencharlotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 268
If I am not mistaking the reason it will not work is the voltage not the amps. A50 amp plug is 2 110v plugs=220v. A 15,20 or 30 amp is 110 each, combining the 20 and 30 gives you 50 amps and 220v combing 2 15/20 amp plugs will also give you 220v. Your trailer is only rated for 110.

For this to work I would imaging you would need two converter boxes in your trailer, each with a dedicated line to run certain appliances.
__________________
2011 F-350 SRW Lariat FX4
2014 Sandpiper 365SAQB
leencharlotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:14 AM   #8
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,735
IF the track actually has 20 AMP circuits and you are the ONLY person on a given
circuit you can probably use a basic 30 amp to 20 amp adapter and run your roof AC
but not much else at the same time. If you need an extension cord it should be
AT LEAST 14 ga and it must not be very long. I have successfully ran my roof AC both
in my driveway as well as my sister's house on a 20 amp wall outlet.

You can usually find these at WalMart or any RV parts counter or camp store.
(Mine is round but looks similar to this)
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 338
Please look up AC / Aleternating current. I don't want to get to technical but you have a sine wave (AC power). One side of the wave goes above (+) and one goes below (-). When you are using 110 VAC you are only using half of the sine wave. The other half is being used on the other "leg". So, if you have a 220 VAC, 50 A connection, half of your breakers are using the + side of the wave and the other half of your breakers are using the - side of the wave. Hence, you have all 110 VAC at your outlets. In most residential breaker panels starting at the top of one row, the breakers alternate "legs" as they they go down. So, if that made any sense, if you took two 110 VAC plugs and "piggy backed" / parrellel connected them to a 30 A RV plug and pluged them in, you best make sure BOTH outlets are on the same leg in the breaker panel AND THAT THE WIRING IS 30 Amp rated, which I can gaurunty will not be the case. Why would you wire a 15 or 20 Amp outlet for 30 Amps.

So the answer to your question: Heck no!! Don't even try it. You will distroy your electrical/ electronics equipment real quick!!!!! Or worse yet, hurt someone.
__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
It cannot be done because as stated you are not only increasing the amps but also the voltage. If you do not think this is the right answer talk to an electrician.
__________________

__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.